Chicken Marsala thanks to Dave

Standard

I don’t know why I ever ask, but I do. “Dave, what do you want for dinner?”. “I don’t care” is his one and only answer. Which is true, he doesn’t care. He will eat anything I cook and is appreciative. He is not picky at all and  it makes him very easy to cook for. But for me, I don’t really like deciding what to cook. I love to cook, but I don’t like the deciding. That was one reason I started reading blogs, for the inspiration and great ideas.

Well when I asked him what he wanted for dinner yesterday, I expected the same answer. But instead he responded “Chicken Marsala”. Thanks babe, great idea! I had some mushrooms that were on their last leg and an opened bottle of wine. Then Dave says “What is chicken marsala anyway?”. He had no clue. He was good for the idea at least!

Pasta is one of my favorite foods of all time. I love spaghetti, lasagna, baked ziti…I’m salivating. However since I am currently not eating tomato sauce because of breastfeeding, there goes most of my beloved pasta. But this dish was perfect. Little did Dave know what a great idea he gave me!

Chicken Marsala:

1.5 lbs chicken breasts

1/4 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

2 Tb butter

1 Tb olive oil

8 oz sliced mushrooms

1/2 cup sweet red wine (Marsala wine technically, but I just used a semi-sweet red)

1/2 cup chicken broth (or stock)

IMG_4428

Trim the fat from the chicken then pound it until about 1/4 inch thick. Sometimes instead of pounding it, I will just slice it in half length wise to make 1 thick chicken breast into 2 thin ones. Make sense? That way I don’t have to go through the mess of pounding chicken and I am left with smaller pieces, not huge flattened out ones.

Mix the flour, salt, pepper, and oregano together. Heat butter and oil in frying pan over medium heat. Dredge chicken in flour mixture then brown chicken on both sides in hot butter and oil. Once browned, add mushrooms, wine, and chicken broth. Make sure some of the liquid gets under the chicken so the chicken doesn’t get stuck to the pan while it finishes cooking.

IMG_4432

Cover pan and let cook until chicken is cooked through, roughly 10 minutes, flipping chicken over once.

IMG_4433

Serve over whole wheat spaghetti like we did or some spaghetti squash if you don’t consume mass amounts of pasta like us! Top with freshly grated parmesan. I served it with a side salad for a little color and veggies.

IMG_4440

I am glad Dave randomly pulled this dinner idea out of thin air. Its one of those meals that I always have ingredients on hand for but somehow forget to make. It really is simple and very healthy! Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. I know what I am havin for dinner tonite!!!!…AND I have a half of a spaghetti squash I need to use up…like you I dont like to decide the what to have…thanx Dave! (And Linds for posting!!)…LY

Leave a Reply

