Momma Jewelry

Standard

I asked for something called Chewbeads for Christmas. They are kind of like a teething ring you wear around your neck. I know it sounds gross to have a kid slobber all over your jewelry but its better than her chewing on my nice white gold cross. They also kind of looked like Betty Rubble jewelry according to Dave. So I forgot about them. Well now Cassidy is teething. She chews on everything and she is also very busy and always needs something to do. When I hold her or breastfeed her, she grabs all over my chest and neck. She grabs hunks of skin and scratches leaving me looking like a cat got me. She likes to tug on my nice cross necklace, so much so that she actually broke the clasp from tugging so hard. Chewbeads were my answer. But at 30 bucks a pop and a less than desirable “flinstone” look, I figured I could make my own! With some etsy inspiration I got going during naptime…

For all you Momma’s out there, I figured I’d give you a little tutorial. Although they are pretty cute aside from being functional so anyone could make these, and quickly!

First get some wooden beads (roughly 1/2 inch diameter). I actually took them from an old necklace I had and never wore. You can also get them from a craft store for a buck or two. Then take a piece of fabric about 3 inches wide by 46 inches (the width of fabric off the bolt) long. Fold it in half with the right (front) sides together. Stitch the entire length making a long tube. Turn it right side out. You should now have a long tube with the right side of the fabric showing and the seam hidden on the inside.

Now tie a knot roughly 10 inches from one end. Drop a bead in the long end of the tube.

IMG_5376

Tie another knot, right up next to the bead.

IMG_5374

Drop another bead, tie another knot. Repeat. I used 7 beads total.

IMG_5377

Take the leftover fabric and trim it to 10 inches.

IMG_5378

Finish off the edges and sew them together. Make sure it fits over your head before you sew it! If it doesn’t, make the ends a little longer than 10 inches.

Put it on and let baby at it!

IMG_5389

Cassidy seems to like it so far!

IMG_5390

So here is a close up…

IMG_5396

I actually really like how they turned out. They are really cute and I think I am going to make a couple more in some more fun prints. The possibilities are endless and they cost under 5 bucks to make!

IMG_5395

These took about 30 minutes to make. Would be great for a homemade gift!

8 responses »

  1. I love the header on your blog- that is so pretty…and your family is beautiful.
    These beads are so cool and my nearly 6 month old would love something like this too! I am going to have to get myself to a craft store and go to work- thanks for the creative idea!

  2. What a great idea these Chewbeads – wish I knew this when my children were teething. This is such a great idea, thanks for sharing this. Have a friend who is going to have a baby soon, so this would be a great gift for when her child teeth one day.
    I’m a new reader of your blog and followed you over from Runmarun.

Leave a Reply

