Dark Chocolate Brownies

Standard

Its no secret I am all about the chocolate. Long gone are the skittles and starburst days, give me chocolate, and make it dark! I experimented with  brownies in the kitchen last week and found a winner. It makes a relatively small batch which I like for two reasons. One, I don’t have to practice as much self control because if we finished the whole batch in one night, at least it was a small one. And two, I really like my baked goods fresh so I only want them to last a day or two so I can move on and make something else (or make them fresh again)!

I have made a couple of brownie recipes including my Black Bean Brownies. The black bean brownies are more fudgy and these are a little more cake like brownies. These also have the crusty edges more. Both have their place for sure. These brownies were adapted from an Eating Light magazine recipe and they are pretty healthy as far as brownies go. So these are perfect for everyday weeknight indulgences. Its still chocolate, its still dessert, but they are healthy enough to indulge in on a daily basis without breaking the scale or your healthy lifestyle.

IMG_5807

Dark Chocolate Brownies

3 TB coconut oil, melted

1 tsp instant coffee granules

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup honey

3 egg whites

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup special dark cocoa powder

1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

IMG_5806

Mix melted coconut oil with coffee granules and let dissolve. Stir in sugar, honey, egg whites, and vanilla and mix. In a separate bowl mix cocoa powder, flour, baking powder, and salt. Fold dry ingredients into wet.

Pour into greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 F for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cut into 16 pieces. Brownies are small so you can cut into larger pieces if desired.

Try not to eat entire pan.

I made a half batch when I took the pictures so this round pan was all I had to fit the amount of batter. Therefore I had little brownie pie pieces.

IMG_5804

I know some people and bloggers are all about the way food looks. Honestly, I couldn’t care less how my food looks. I just care how it tastes. Maybe that’s why I haven’t gotten too into food photography. I mess around with angles and lighting and editing a little bit. But I take pictures of food to document it and I’d rather spend my time using my babies as my photography subjects.

From snacking on and LOVING her first pretzel stick…

IMG_5830IMG_5833IMG_5834

To documenting a dance party…

IMG_5837IMG_5838IMG_5839IMG_5840IMG_5841

And of course that dance party was fueled by a brownie…or two Smile

10 responses »

  1. Brownies will be on the menu tonigth or tomorrow!!!…any ideas on what I can use instead of the coffee granules?…oats maybe?…not sure what function they serve…I am not into the mocha taste…glad you used the coconut oil….

    btw glad you arent into photographing food…the pictures of the girls made my day!!…perfect skirt for a dance party…I might be sewing for Mary Carter during my break…she is still teaching…crazy to think if you lived here she could teach 3 generations of our family!!!!…she is the best…she always love you and your spirit!!

    I miss you…if you were 2 hours away, you would be sick of me…I could make it up and back and still do the school pickup!!!

  2. Yum! Those look wonderful. As soon as it’s cooler around here, I’m going to have to make these! Your kids are so cute!

Leave a Reply

