Weekend Wrap Up and Cassidy’s 10 Month Update

Standard

How in the heck is my baby girl already 10 months? Famous words of a parent, I know! Time really does fly. Before I go into Cassidy’s stats, I’ll recap my low key weekend.

We ate lots of fresh healthy dinners with vegetables from our own gardens! Friday night’s dinner had green beans from my garden as well as a fresh pesto I made with basil from my garden.

IMG_6363

Sunday nights dinner had veggies from my mom’s boyfriend’s garden. He lives on a farm and has a legit garden/farm, not just a little backyard one. He sent me home with more potatoes and peas than most families could ever consume before going bad. But I will be eating them everyday until they are gone, I don’t mind repeats and leftover, especially when its repeats of fresh home grown vegetables. I roasted them up with a couple of Trader Joe’s chicken sausages, olive oil, and parsley, oregano, and basil from my own garden.

IMG_6400

Speaking of gardens, mine took a huge hit this weekend. I found out I have grubs or squash borers that completely destroyed ALL of my squash plants. HUGE bummer to put it lightly! I had butternut squash, yellow squash, zucchini squash, and spaghetti squash all growly beautifully a few days ago and now they are all dead.

I drowned my sorrows in a rolo McFlurry last night to make it all better. It helped a little.

Now on to the cutest, sweetest 10 month old baby around, Cassidy Blaire! Cassidy is still the same little angel baby she has always been but now she is go go go. She is always moving and active and its getting harder to get her to sit still in places like church. She made it about 40 minutes on my lap with snacks and patty cake before I had to take her into the “mother’s room”. In her defense, church is right in the middle of her morning nap so she is forced to nap later on the way home from church in her seat on Sundays.

IMG_6375

Sleep:

Still a STELLAR sleeper. Like seriously unreal. She’s out by 830 pm and wakes up at 830 am. Some days even longer. Friday night she was out by 815 pm and I woke her at 930 am because we had somewhere to be that morning! She naps for about 1-2 hours in the morning or sometimes a nap in her car seat if we are out and about which is usually only 45 minutes-1.5 hours. Then she naps in the afternoon for 2-2.5 hours, sometimes closer to 3 if she had a shorter morning nap. She adapts beautifully to our hectic schedules and naps whenever she can. We are usually home for her afternoon nap though so she has some nap consistency and I do keep a relatively strict bedtime. She goes to bed late maybe once a month if we are out at a party or friends house but I really try to be home by bedtime.

Eating:

She is still breastfed mostly. She nurses at 830 am (or wakeup time), 1130, 230, 530, and 820. So that’s 5 times a day. She eats a small breakfast of bananas and some days some rice puffs. Lunch is a fruit, vegetable, protein, and whole grain. Dinner is a vegetable, protein, whole grain. A little cheese is offered at either lunch or dinner and is her favorite food of all time. She eats baby cereal mixed with 2 oz breast milk around 7 pm each night. She eats mostly organic, well I guess we all do. She just eats what we eat, no baby purees or anything. She is not picky at all so far and eats whatever I make the rest of the family to eat. I just cut it in little pieces and she feeds herself. So a modified baby led weaning approach I guess. Sometimes I give her the bunch chunks of food for her to bite, like bread or a green bean, but I cut up most of her food.

Milestones:

She pulls herself up on anything and everything and can climb really well. I found her on top of Alyssa’s little tykes picnic table in the playroom. I went to the bathroom real quick and ran back to see her so proud of herself that she made it to the top in record speed. She is starting to walk behind her little push car but I don’t foresee her walking on her own this month. I am expecting closer to a year old, but who knows.

And we can now do pigtails, that’s a milestone, right?!

IMG_6377

Stats:

These are unofficial since I did them at home. She is 29.25 inches long and 17.75 lbs. That puts her in the 95% for height and 30% for weight. We only have 3/4 of an inch left until she outgrows her infant carrier. I am dreading this because she still falls asleep in her carrier a lot and its nice to be able to snap it out of the car and just sit in the house for her to keep napping.

IMG_6386

Speaking of percentages, I looked up growth charts today to get her percentages and there are 2 different ones commonly used. One is from the CDC and that’s the one my pediatrician uses. It averages all babies in the United States. However the other one is the WHO growth chart and it is made from averages across the world (I think it said from 4 different developed countries) ONLY from babies who were exclusively breastfeed for at least 4 months and are still nursing by 12 months. So the WHO growth chart would obviously be more accurate for us and it puts her at a higher percentage for weight.

I really don’t know what I did to deserve this easy easy baby. Maybe its to balance out little miss sassy pants Alyssa. Alyssa is so sweet and caring and hilarious but girl has a little attitude on her when she wants. Dave better watch out because if all my future children are as easy as Cassidy and fun as Alyssa, I may want 10!

IMG_6370

7 responses »

  1. Wow, you aren’t kidding about her being a great sleeper! My almost 9 month old is about the same at night but I’m lucky if I can get her naps to last more than 30 minutes.

    Love the pigtails, what type of hairties do you use?

    • They are tiny little rubber/plastic ones that are used for (ok i paused here for a long time because i dont want to come across racist at all!) little black girl’s cornrows. They are more slippery feeling than rubbery though so they dont rip their hair out. They came in a pack of like 200 and are still leftover from when my 3 year old was a baby. They are the only ties that hold up their baby hair.

  2. So sorry about your squash…I always say I have a black thumb…I’m going to be thankful if I make the herbs I’m growing live!

    Your little one is adorable!

  3. Oh my goodness- she is so sweet! I am so.so.so jealous of your baby’s sleep schedule! That is unbelievable! So sorry to hear about the loss of all your squash plants- I have those borers too and they show up later in the season…ugh! Glad a rolo McFlurry helped a little bit. :)

Leave a Reply

