Healthy Oatmeal Banana Bread

Standard

If I want cake, I’ll eat some cake. But if I want something like banana bread, I’d like it to be healthy and actually have nutritional value to it. How did traditional banana bread, other quick breads, and muffins get the reputation of being healthy? An entire cup of sugar and an entire cup of oil? jeez! I might as well just eat a piece of cake and I’d probably even save myself some calories. Enter Healthy Oatmeal Banana Bread.

IMG_6429

When I make banana bread, I like to be able to eat it as a quick breakfast or an afternoon snack. If it is going to make up an entire meal for me, like breakfast, it needs to pack some nutritional punch. This banana bread is made with 100% whole grain from both whole wheat flour and oats. I love baking with oats, it gives such a good texture and flavor. There is no added oil and very little sugar since most of the sweetness is derived from the bananas. The optional pecans add a good dose of healthy fats and protein.

IMG_6426

It comes out with a really nice “crust” which is my favorite part! The inside is moist from the bananas but the oats keep it from being gooey.

IMG_6425

We ate it for dessert Wednesday night, breakfast Thursday morning, and the last little bit for dessert on Thursday night. Yes, between Alyssa and myself, we ate the entire loaf in 24 hours. Dave didn’t even get a taste, that’s what happens when he works too much! Don’t worry I’m not really that mean. I bake things for him to take for work all the time, even lots of extras for him to share. Just not this time Smile.

2 larger slices made a great breakfast! It was much more filling and just as portable as a granola bar.

IMG_6430

Healthy Oatmeal Banana Bread

makes 1 loaf (12 slices)

4 large over ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs (or 1 egg and 1/4 cup egg whites)

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped pecans or chocolate chips (optional)

Mash the bananas well with a fork. Add eggs and mix. In a separate bowl mix the rest of the ingredients together then fold into the banana and egg.

Spray a loaf pan and pour all batter in. Cook at 350 F for 45-50 minutes or until inserted knife comes out clean. Since there is no oil, make sure you don’t overcook. The bananas however give plenty of moisture.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 127

Fat: 1 g

Sodium: 114 (5%)

Carbohydrates: 27 g

Fiber: 2 g

Sugars: 8 g

Protein: 3.4

9 responses »

  1. and i just happen to have 3 over ripe bananas (that Lys and I would not eat…WAY too many brown spots)…and they are headed to the oven for banana bread…thanx!!!!…Mr Carlos keeps asking me about Screaming Panther…lol…

    • we make it quite often. Some weeks we go through a dozen bananas and other weeks they just don’t seem to be eaten in time. And I honestly buy some extras sometimes just so i know a couple will get brown too quick and I will have to make banana bread :)

Leave a Reply

