Simple Tomato Salad from my CSA Haul

Standard

I got another CSA box tonight! It is seriously like Christmas morning, I get so dang excited! And my box did not dissapoint. All of this local organic produce for $20, seriously amazing!

IMG_7072

As far as vegetables go I got:

a huge bag of okra

2 tomatoes

a bundle of carrots

2 eggplants

1 red onion

1 carton yellow tomatoes

IMG_7073

And for fruits:

4 peaches

1 canteloupe

1 seedless watermelon

IMG_7074

Check this one massive peach out, I had to essentially palm it. And look how tiny it makes my lens cap look.

IMG_7077IMG_7078

And then I got an extra little surprise…half a dozen eggs!

IMG_7076

It was 6 but I ate 3 within 10 minutes of getting my box. Along with some tomatoes and the watermelon.

My plan for all of this. Lets see…the fruit will all be eaten as snacks and with breakfasts. The large tomatoes will be made into grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches, yellow tomatoes will be made into tomato salad, carrots will be dipped in hummus, okra will be lightly breaded in cornmeal and baked, and the eggplant I am still undecided.

Simple Tomato Salad:

1 pint cherry tomatoes

1 tsp olive oil

1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

1 Tbs freshly chopped oregano (or basil)

1/8 tsp garlic salt

IMG_6923

Chop tomatoes into halves or forths and salt with garlic salt. Let sit while you chop the oregano. Mix the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and oregano. Stir into tomatoes and sit in refrigerator to marinade. Let sit for at least 15 minutes or as long as overnight before serving.

IMG_6925

I am so happy to be putting all of this fresh local food into my babies’ bellies!

IMG_7070

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #41 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

