My Little Ballerina

Standard

Alyssa had her first ballet recital this weekend! She has been doing gymnastics since she was 1 1/2 but this year decided she wanted to try ballet. Well she actually wanted to do both, but we couldn’t handle preschool, soccer, ballet, and gymnastics. So she chose ballet and she really enjoys it. Although she does keep asking about doing gymnastics again too so I may see if I can do a summer camp or something.

Here she is, second from the left…and I apologize in advance for the horrible videographer skills. I was standing in the far back with Cassidy strapped into the Ergo on my back. So she was moving around a lot making me move. Also since i was all the way in the back,  i had to zoom way in which made every little move I made seem way bigger.

How cute is that?? I love her so dang much!

This is the first time she has ever been on stage and I thought she did great! She is not shy at all, but you never know how a kid will react when they get up on stage. She wanted to do it again once she came off. It was just a short little Christmas program so she only did a ballet number. In the Spring she will have a full recital with multiple dances. Oh and a 55 dollar costume to go along with it! It was pretty painful to write that check, especially since I sew and know I could make it for about 5 or 10. People always say babies are expensive but I didn’t find that at all. I breastfed for over a year, made my own baby food, and used cloth diapers. So my babies are pretty cheap actually. But now my preschooler is whats getting expensive! Its worth it though to see her up there in that cute little tutu and bun (not the 55 dollar costume, just a borrowed one for the day).

After her ballet recital we came home and meal planned for the week. Its going to be a delicious week over here, is it weird I get excited about food? Some weeks I am just so indecisive and can’t decide what meals to make. Other weeks, everything sounds good, like this week…

Monday- Homemade pasta with Italian meatballs and broccoli

Tuesday- Pan seared tilapia, sweet potato fries, Kale Chips (Alyssas request)

Wednesday- White Turkey Chili with pumpkin

Thursday- Thanksgiving. I am contributing this healthified Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Icing

Firday- Sweet and Sour Chicken over brown rice with broccoli (broccoli was on sale at the organic market!)

Saturday- Turkey and Lean Ground Beef meatloaf, roasted sweet potatoes, salad.

I linked to some of the recipes. One of the reasons I started a blog was to keep track of my own recipes and I really do use them all the time to reference back to. Although I don’t necessarily always follow the same meal on the same day. If I get cooking tomorrow and want chili instead, then I’ll change it up. I just plan 7 meals for the week and eat whatever produce looks like it needs to be used up first or whatever meat is currently defrosted. I just try and get a little red meat for iron and 1 night of fish for omega 3s each week. The rest of the week is usually poultry or beans.

And now after typing up all these meals, I am hungry and want to eat a full meal at 1045 pm!

5 responses »

  1. hmmm weekend meal preview…yum!!!!

    notice how every ballerina is doing something different…so cute!!…LOVED watching you on stage…now I get to do it all over again…i wanna get her spring recital on my calendar!!

  2. Mmm, a healthified pumpkin roll- I was going to play around with that recipe, too. Glad you saved me the time! :)
    That video is precious! I’ll have to share it with L when she’s up from her nap!

Leave a Reply

