Apple Omelet Recipe

Standard

Ever since I stopped eating processed breakfast cereals, I have had to get much more creative in the breakfast department. I still prefer sweeter breakfasts that include a decent amount of carbohydrate over salty or savory. Its best to get more carbs in the beginning of the day so your body has all day to burn them. I  also make most of my breakfasts the night before so they must be able to reheat well or taste good eaten cold. The apple omelet I ate this morning satisfied all of my breakfast criteria. It tasted great cold and reheated, had carbs and protein and fat, whole grain, and totally unprocessed. It was slightly sweet and had whole wheat flour to satisfy me but still 3 eggs to satisfy my egg loving husband.

IMG_7945

Don’t let my less than stellar photography skills deter you! My crazy haired baby sure approved as she ran around double fisting!

IMG_7947

Apple Omelet

serves 1

3 eggs

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup milk (almond, skim, or whole)

1 tsp sugar

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 small apple

IMG_7946

Preheat oven to 375 F.

whisk eggs with milk and vanilla. Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon.

Dice apple into tiny pieces. I leave the skin on, that’s where the majority of the nutrients and fiber are.

Combine egg and flour mixture. Stir in diced apples.

Spray a 2 quart baking dish with cooking spray or coat with coconut oil and pour batter in.

Cook at 375 F for 18-20 minutes.

Variations:

Lighter version: 1 egg and 2 egg whites instead of 3 eggs and only 3 Tbs flour.

Paleo: substitute 3 tbs almond flour for the whole wheat flour, use almond milk, and omit the sugar.

HIgher fat (for the kid’s growing brains): 1 egg and 2 egg yolks. I split it between the two girls.

IMG_7948

I have also doubled and tripled the recipe when making it for the whole family. Just use a larger baking dish like a 13 x 9 or two separate ones.

Its a great balanced combination of carbs, protein, fiber, and fats to satisfy and keep you full.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 459

Fat: 13.5

Sodium: 212 mg (9%)

Carbohydrates: 64 g

Dietary Fiber: 6 g

Sugars: 31 g (23 of those from fruit)

Protein: 22 g

The lighter version brings it to 336 calories, 4.6 g fat, 57 g carbs, and 18 g protein.

This will be a new regular in the breakfast circulation for sure!

11 responses »

  1. I’m intrigued! And I definitely agree, love whole grain carbs in the morning, too. Thanks for your sweet note of support!

  2. This looks good and I love the different variations, too! I love sweeter (but protein based) breakfasts, so you stay full longer. I’m definitely going to try this!

    Also, I just found your blog and I have enjoyed looking at your recipes and reading through your posts! Like you, I nursed my son and made all of his food! He also eats what my husband and I eat and loves to help us in the kitchen, too! I look forward to following your blog!

    • I hope you like the omelet, we love it over here! I am hoping that we are setting a great foundation for healthy habits for our girls. This afternoon my 4 year old cut broccoli off our backyard plants, helped me wash it, and will stand on her stool and watch me sautee it along with some cabbage this evening I’m sure. I feel like these days most kids probably dont even realize food can be grown, but jsut assume it comes from a freezer or drive thru. its sad.

Leave a Reply

