Introducing Mallory Brynn

Standard

We recently added a new member to the family, baby girl #3, Mallory. I was recently asked by a reader to tell more about her and what mom wouldn’t love to talk about her new baby?

IMG_0142IMG_9971

To sum it up, life is wonderful. Since she’s the 3rd kid, I am not new at this and the transition was seamless. Neither older sibling (Alyssa is 5 and Cassidy is 2) has shown a single hint of jealousy and both are in love with their baby sister. It helps they have each other and they are great playmates. Of course they bicker and fight some but for the most part they play very well together, for hours on end in the playroom. That gives me plenty of time to sit and breastfeed Mallory and get lots of good snuggles in. Alyssa will even sit next to me and read a book during Cassidys afternoon nap if I want to lay down and take a nap with the baby. They are both wonderful with the baby and run and grab me diapers and wipes whenever they even hear me ask the baby if she has a dirty diaper. So there was really no adjustment period there at all.

IMG_0048

Breastfeeding also went soo much smoother this time. With the older two I bled, blistered, cracked, etc for the first 3-4 weeks. I wanted to cry (and did some) every time they latched on. This time I didn’t have any of that. Maybe its because I stopped nursing Cassidy right before I got pregnant with Mallory so there wasn’t a big gap between nursing. She also just didn’t seem to have such a strong suck like the other two. So that helped with recovery. Breastfeeding is the biggest change because there is a lot I don’t eat. Certain foods bothered Alyssa when I breastfed and others made Cassidy scream with gas. So this time I cut out all of those foods from the start. We have yet to have an upset gassy crying spell. I don’t eat tomatoes or tomato sauce, broccoli, beans, lentils, asparagus, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, onions, garlic, or drink caffeine. I eat lots of protein (chicken, beef, fish), whole grains, peas, zucchini, kale, spinach, greens, salads, green beans, swiss chard, yogurt, cheese, nuts, seeds, and any fruit. So its really not too restrictive. And its totally worth it for a happy gas free baby. When shes around 6 months ill start reintroducing those foods. And man, the breastfeeding hunger is starting to set it. I eat more than my 200 lb husband when I’m nursing, I become a bottomless pit.

She nurses every 3 hours during the day, only takes about 15 minutes, and we do the eat wake sleep cycle. For some naps she eats sleeps then eats again since the 3 hours has passed. Then at night she goes to bed around 915 (I lay her down awake but tired and she falls asleep within 5 minutes) swaddled. I dreamfeed her as much as she will eat in her sleepy state when I go to bed around 1045. She will then sleep between 6-8 hours, eat once, then go back to sleep until 8 or 830 am. So we are doing well for a 7 week old.

The birth story is unreal. My nurse told me I better not tell people Mallory’s birth story because all women would hate me and they probably wouldn’t believe it anyway. But here it is…

I had an appointment the morning I was 39 weeks 5 days. She checked me, I was 4-5 cm. They don’t admit until 6 cm unless you are in active labor. I wasn’t having contractions. Based on the fact I have a history of fast labors (2.5 hours and 1.5 hours from start to finish with the older two), she wanted me to go get hooked up on the contraction monitor to make sure I wasn’t in early labor and didn’t know it. She also stripped my membranes at that time.

Around 12 I got monitored, no contractions, but the doctor wanted to check me again after lunch before sending me home. We got lunch and came back around 1. She said I was now a full 5 cm. So really no change. I wanted to stay and have them break my water though since I knew once labor started, it would happen fast. My doctor was just a resident so she didn’t have the authority to break my water so the attending came in to check me. She said I was at 6 cm, no going home now. She gave me the option to walk the halls or break my water to get contractions going because at this point I still wasn’t having any. I decided on breaking my water because I wasn’t even in labor so I knew walking wouldn’t do anything. I went to my room and was messing around doing lunges and grapevines to see if it would make labor start. No luck. I had been doing stuff like that for a week to try and get labor started and nothing.

At 3:45 they broke my water. So at this point I am still not in labor, still not having any contractions, but somehow I am dilated to 6-7 cm now. After about 5 minutes I started having contractions that were registering on the monitor but I couldn’t feel them. A few felt like braxton hicks I had been having for months but that’s it. I stood there talking to my doctor (a family friend) and the attending. They left the room at 3:57 hoping labor would start soon. This is me then. Still a smile and no contractions

IMG_9722

At 4:00 I had a legit contraction and knew labor was on its way. At 4:03 I had one that hurt like hell. This was labor now. The next one, the doctors and nurses rushed in saying the baby’s heart rate was dropping. I needed to get in bed and get on oxygen. I had them wait while I breathed through contraction #2. #3 I got into bed. #4 they turned me on my side, still sitting up, and put the oxygen mask on my face. #5 I said I know its crazy but I feel like I need to push. The doctor said don’t because the baby needed oxygen before we spent a while pushing. The doctor was sitting on my bed, looked down, and said, “oh nevermind” and the baby literally came out as I tried not to push. Contraction #5, 8 minutes after my first contraction.  8 minutes. Not 8 minutes of pushing, not 8 minutes of transition or active labor. 8 total minutes. Insane.

IMG_9785

The doctors and nurses took bets on how fast labor would be since the first two were so fast. The attending won with a time of 4:40. So still way later!

5 responses »

  1. Your labor was God’s gift to you for how rough you felt during pregnancy!!…even tho i was there to watch the girls, it was nice to read yor story…

  2. Yay, thanks for posting! I just had my second little girl in Nov w/a similar birth story. At my 40 wk appt I was 7cm with no contractions so they admitted me & broke my water. 3 hrs later I had a baby! Didn’t even miss a meal, lol.

    She’s gorgeous and I’m glad everything is going well!

    • Thank you so much! Yes, my births, especially Mallorys, are unbelievable. No complaints here :). Besides I am always so scared of going into labor when I’m at like Target, and I wouldn’t have even made it out of the store in the 8 minutes my labor lasted!

Leave a Reply

