Chocolate Covered Strawberry Crepes

Standard

I make a lot of dessert. But my husbands absolute favorite dessert I make are crepes. That’s saying a lot coming from someone with a big sweet tooth. Before we met I didn’t have a huge sweet tooth but now mine easily matches if not over shadows Dave’s. I have been making these for a long time, before I really even worried about my food being healthy and whole. But as it turns out, they still fit into our healthy lifestyle.

IMG_4900

The crepe is like a really thin slightly sweet pancake filled with fresh fruit and drizzled in homemade chocolate sauce. It is absolutely nothing like the ones you see on the IHOP commercials. Those things look like they are just doused in artificially flavored goo, dye, high fructose corn syrup and covered with oily whipped “cream”.

Crepes sound so elegant, fancy, and time consuming, especially with a homemade chocolate sauce, but they really aren’t hard at all. Maybe 20 minutes from start to licking my plate clean. Lay open crepe, add generous amount of strawberries, drizzle with chocolate, roll up. You can top with homemade whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

IMG_4901

 

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Crepes:

makes 12

Crepes:

3/4 cup flour (I used whole wheat pastry)

1/2 cup + 1 Tbs milk

2 eggs

2 Tb sugar (coconut palm or organic granulated)

2 tsp coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Heat milk to warm. Add coconut oil and stir well. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract. Add flour and sugar. Add extra milk if needed to make it thin enough.

Rub a pan with coconut oil. Heat to medium.

Pour just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, quickly swirling the pan around to evenly distribute the batter. If its not getting thin enough, add a little more milk to the batter. They should look like this…

IMG_4887

Let cook for about 30 seconds. flip. let cook for another 30 seconds then move to a plate.

Repeat until all crepes are finished, reapplying coconut oil to the pan as needed It should make roughly 12 crepes. Wrap the crepes up in the plastic wrap to keep warm. You can also make them ahead and store them in the refrigerator until ready to use.

Chocolate sauce:

2 Tbs corn starch

3-4 Tbs honey

1 Tbs dark chocolate cocoa powder

1/2 cup milk

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbs butter

Put corn starch, sugar, and cocoa in a small pot. Stir it together then add milk. Now turn on your burner and heat until thickened, stirring often. It should only take a couple minutes. Once its to your desired thickness, take off the heat and stir in butter and vanilla.

 

Fill crepe with cut up strawberries or favorite fruit, drizzle chocolate over, roll up, and enjoy!

 

 

12 responses »

  1. I bet you are loving the bob! We love ours. Worth every penny! Neither of my kids like crepes. I have tried everything. Nutella, peanut butter, bananas, strawberries, ham and cheese… I think it’s because they are difficult to eat.

    • I do like the BOB so far! Its good now we can go for family runs. For Alyssa’s crepe I cut it up and she ate it with a fork/fingers. She didn’t have any trouble scarfing it down and begging for more!

  2. I know what I am having for dessert tonite!!!…I have had these at your house…and you’ve made them at mine…if only i could will the ingredients to my house so I didnt have to make a trip to the grocery store…or better yet have you in town to make them as you do it better!!…Can you post the recipe with the udon noodles?…I tried chow mein ones the other nite with the stir fry sauce…think I like the udon ones better…but Giant doesnt carry them..also have you read up on coconut oil and its health benefits…Grandma Linda is using it in place of butter in things…even on her vegies…altho I dont put butter on vegies…except corn on the cob of course…take care…glad you and Dave got a run in…I miss you!!

    • I have not done savory crepes before. I mentioned it to my husband once and he wasn’t fond of the idea. I guess in his mind they are supposed to be sweet. Maybe I should just make them without telling him, I’m sure he would end up liking them!

  3. I’m such a sucker for crepes, especially when chocolate and strawberries are involved…yum! Way to run with 50 lbs worth of kids rolling in front of you. I find it hard enough to run on my own without pushing haha

Leave a Reply

