Stir Fry Sauce

Standard

Stir fry was on the menu tonight. This is another meal that I love because of its versatility. You can use essentially any vegetables and either chicken, tofu, or beef to meet your tastes and eating style. I used to always keep a package of stir fry mix in my pantry for a quick meal until one day I was out. I looked up a couple recipes to get some ideas then I got at creating my own stir fry sauce. Every recipe I found used way too much sugar for my tastes. So this is a little healthier.

IMG_4460

Stir Fry Sauce:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup vinegar

3 Tbs sugar

2 Tbs corn starch

1/2 tsp ground ginger

a couple drops sesame oil

Place all ingredients in a small saucepan and stir until corn starch is dissolved. Heat on low until thickened. Easy as that! Add more sesame oil to taste. I love it and the tiniest bit makes a HUGE different when making Asian foods!

Note: You don’t need to make the sauce until about 10 minutes before the rest of the stir fry and rice are cooked. It will get too thick if you make it first and then let it sit. If you want to make it ahead just make sure you take it off the heat slightly before your desired thickness. You can refrigerate it at this point as well for a later day. You may need to add another Tbs or 2 of water once you use it though.

For Stir fry:

1-1.5 lbs meat, chopped

1 tsp olive oil

1 bag frozen peppers

1 lb snap peas or combination of any veggies (mushrooms, broccoli, peas, etc)

Chop chicken, steak, or tofu and pan fry using a tsp olive oil.

Once its seared, add your veggies to the same pan. I usually add a couple Tbs of water at this point instead of more oil. For the snap peas, I cut the ends off with my kitchen scissors.

Once meat is cooked through and veggies are crisp tender, pour your sauce over and mix through.

Serve over brown rice

Quick “take out” food without the take out calories and preservatives. Whenever I order chinese food out, I get stuffed but then am weirdly hungry an hour later. Really makes me wonder what’s in that stuff. This sauce is really quick and easy to make and I will never be buying that powdered stuff in the package again!

And as if dinner wasn’t good enough, this is what I got to stare across the table at…I am in love…

IMG_4465

2 responses »

  1. I know you cant do the cabbage family right now but the other nite I used this recipe with broccoli, cauliflower and carrots…all fresh…leftovers have been my lunch for the last 2 days…I actually think it is better the second day around…and i used chow mein noodles instead of rice…Madden had seconds…so you KNOW if was tasty!!

Leave a Reply

