Fudgy Black Bean Brownie Recipe

Standard

I talked yesterday about the 3 batches of black bean brownies I baked over the weekend. Batch #1 had too many eggs. It was weirdly moist but crumbly. Batch #2 was good, but a little cakier than I prefer my brownies. Batch #3 was dense and fudgy and deeply chocolately and I can’t stop eating them. When I bake “regular” brownies, I usually take them out like 5 minutes before they are technically done, and this is what these are like. Let’s just get to the recipe!

 

Fudgy Black Bean Brownies:

2 cups cooked black beans

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp decaf instant coffee

3 Tbs melted butter

1/4 cup sugar (coconut palm or unrefined organic)

1/4 cup honey

5 Tbs cocoa powder

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

optional: 1/2 tsp baking powder IF you want a more cake like brownie instead of fudgy

Preheat oven to 350 F. Place beans, egg, vanilla, coffee, and melted butter in food processer and blend until very smooth.

IMG_4688

Scoop out into bowl then add cocoa powder, baking powder if using it, honey, and sugar. Stir in chocolate chips.

IMG_4690

Grease an 8×8 baking pan, pour batter in, and bake 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool 5 minutes then slice into 16 pieces. They still have that wonderful crusty top of traditional brownies and that gooey center.

IMG_4707

Note: The coffee is added to bring out the chocolate taste even more. Where I don’t think you can taste it, if you really hate coffee flavoring just don’t add it. You may want to add an extra Tsp of almond extract or vanilla extract though to mask the taste of the black beans.

 

Variations:

Peanut butter: Thin down about 2 Tbs of peanut butter with 1-2 Tb milk and drizzle on top before baking.

IMG_4700

Coconut: Add I tsp coconut extract instead of the vanilla. Add 1/4 cup coconut on top of batter before baking.

About Fuel My Family

Hi, I'm Lindsay. Welcome to my life! I am a 25 year old mom of two girls and a marine corps wife. I run, cook, cloth diaper, sew, play dressup, chauffeur, and I love every second of it!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

