Our Love Story

Standard

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I wanted to tell you a little bit about my Valentine!

1. How long have you and your significant other been together?

Dave and I have been together for  7 1/2 years. We started dating when I was 17 and he was 21. Yep, he robbed the cradle Smile

55_507727163732_20103801_30544632_3304_n

2. How did you meet? {What’s your “love” story?}

Dave went to college at the Naval Academy which is in Annapolis, MD where I grew up. The Naval Academy had something called a sponsor program where the Midshipmen (a student at the naval academy) were given a surrogate family who lived in Annapolis. My family was one of these sponsor families. The midshipmen would come over to our house, sleep, eat, do laundry, party, and they really became a part of our family. I gained 8 older brothers this way and they all became very protective of me. Whenever they would bring friends to our house they would say there was one rule, “don’t touch my sponsor sister” (me). Well Dave was brought over, told the same line, and didn’t listen too well obviously. Dave was a year younger than my sponsor brothers so when they graduated college we started hanging out. It was also good timing because I graduated high school right before then so we were a freshman and senior in college. Lots less creepy than a senior in high school and junior in college!

376_527617967402_20103801_32272707_8150_n[1]

3. If married, how long have you been married? If not, is this the guy you hope to marry? {do tell}

We have been married 6 years…jeez, I feel old.

4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding? If not, where would you like to get married? And will it be big or small?

We were married at my Catholic church in Maryland. It was around 120 people. We were on a pretty tight budget so we tried keeping it smallish.

5. Do you have any nick-names that you call one another? Do share!

Just Babe. I guess we aren’t too creative over here. Although check out this “creative” tree star. Yep, that’s tin foil on top of our 3 foot tree! It was one of our first married Christmas and we were cheap! It has been replaced don’t worry (but honestly only because the tin foil one got lost in one of our 5 moves!)

160_511619558342_20103801_31432258_363_n

6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey.

One, he is a great father. Our girls are so important to him and Alyssa screams running towards the door every time he comes home from work. He works extremely long hard hours to provide for our family and so I can be a stay at home mom. He strongly believes in me not working so I can raise our babies and I wouldn’t have it any other way. He is also not too proud to carry my purse, a flowery diaper bag, and wear our babies in a sling.

229260_635026709422_20103801_34993654_7256905_n

Two, I can be myself around him. I can be a goofball and tell him anything that’s on my mind. There is literally not a single thing I couldn’t tell him or do in front of him. Three, he really  tries. That’s important in marriage. Marriage is hard and it takes work. He tries to change things and work on things to make our relationship better.

130_511241810352_20103801_31359271_6243_n

7. Tell us how he proposed? Or your ideal proposal?

We both knew only after dating for a month or two that we would eventually be married. That’s saying a lot considering how young we were. I knew we would get engaged but I had no clue it would be so soon. The proposal was simple. We were on a camping trip and the proposal was in a tent. We spent the rest of the weekend boating, fishing, and making smores!

8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?

We don’t really do presents and all for Valentine’s day. He will usually bring me flowers though. When he was deployed he had some amazing chocolate covered strawberries sent. I am allergic to champagne so definitely not that!

9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?

Well considering we have two kids, we are realistic and are pop in a movie and relax on the couch people. Honestly though, we were kind of this way before kids too. Our thing we do are walks. Every night after dinner we have always taken a long walk around the neighborhood, holding hands, and talking. This is also easy to continue on with the kids in a stroller! Although I am a play on the beach during the day kind of girl.

80_507727208642_20103801_31020564_9104_n

10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?

We would love to travel to Europe. I went once, but not since middle school. He has only had a short layover there on his way home from Afghanistan a year ago. Since we had kids young in life, we plan on traveling a lot when our babies are grown and we have a little more time to save money!

11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day.

I plan on going for a run with my brand new BOB duallie stroller!!! Then eating lots of leftovers from the weekend of cooking with Mimi and a potluck we went to last night. Dave has been training for the past 3 weeks and is still gone, so we won’t be able to be together unfortunately. He gets home tomorrow though, so this year the 15th of February will have to be Valentines day!

80_507727283492_20103801_31020567_799_n

12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?

Well we just got the BOB duallie, so that will be my present! I am not a girl who cares about getting flowers or chocolate. I am practical and love getting gifts like this. For my birthday, 2 weeks before Cassidy was born, I asked for a treadmill to get back in shape post baby. LOVED it and it is a very well used present!

13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.

Arguing is okay (within moderation obviously). Its necessary actually. No relationship is without problems and if you don’t voice the issue and talk through it, it will never change and get fixed. Pushing problems under the rug just makes them grow!

14. Show us a picture of what love means to you.

262493_657379723802_20103801_35261647_5935312_n

Do you celebrate Valentine’s day with your significant other or do you think its more of a “Hallmark Holiday”?

I kind of think Valentines day has became too much about gifts and flowers where the focus should be on the love and relationship. Give me a long walk holding my husbands hand over a box of chocolates!

4 responses »

  1. awwww too too cute! ❤ Our boys aren't gone together if yours is getting back tomorrow but we should def have hung out! grr! I'm glad you get yours back!!!! =) and jealous! hehe but mostly happy for you guys! Hope you have a wonderful belated valentine's day!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

