Sausage and Spinach Stuffed Mini Peppers

Standard

After getting home from pre-school story time the other day I was in the mood to cook. Usually I cook out of necessity and I get the urge to bake. But I had a few ingredients that needed to be used up before they went bad.

Fact: I will NEVER throw out food. I will eat leftovers for a week straight before I throw out food or make a random casserole concoction before letting any ingredient go bad. There’s a commercial right now that says the average American throws out $500 of food a year! I through out maybe $5 a year, no joke. And that’s just when the cottage cheese is too moldy to eat around it.

Anyway, I needed to use about 1/3 block of cream cheese, a sausage, and some spinach that was previously defrosted. I remembered the baby peppers I had and these little babies were born. They came together in about 10 minutes start to finish and were AMAZING. If you have yet to make something off my blog, let this be the first!

Sausage and Spinach Stuffed Mini Peppers:

I bag mini peppers (about 20 tiny peppers)

3 oz cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup defrosted chopped spinach, drained

1 chicken sausage

1/4 tsp dried basil

2-3 Tb shredded cheddar

 

First wash your peppers, cut the tops off of them, and rinse the seeds out. You can now either cut them in half lenthwise or leave them whole. I did half and half so I could decide my preference.

Take the casing off the pre-cooked chicken sausage and crumble in a bowl. Add the cream cheese and spinach. Add basil.

IMG_4733

Mix it all together and stuff inside your peppers. I started off trying to use a spoon, but my clean hands got the job done better. Here they are stuffed whole…

IMG_4734

And here they are stuffed cut in half. If you cut them in half, sprinkle each with a little of the cheddar.

IMG_4736

Spray a baking sheet and broil for 5-10 minutes.

IMG_4737

Be careful to watch the peppers to make sure they don’t burn. Once the cheese and tops of the peppers start to brown, they are done!

IMG_4741IMG_4742

I know I said I did them both ways to see which I preferred. I think I liked the ones cut in half better because they were sprinkled with the cheddar and had that nice crusty cheese on top. However the whole ones stayed hot for a really long time so they would be perfect to sit out as an appetizer.

IMG_4746IMG_4748

 

If I were you, I would make these now…lunch, snack, dinner, heck they can even be breakfast!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

