Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Icing

Standard

Last week I posted Dave’s favorite dessert I make. This pumpkin roll is a close second for him. But for me, it is hands down #1! I love anything pumpkin. Pumpkin lattes, pumpkin oats, pumpkin pancakes, etc. I also love anything with cream cheese. Cream cheese is probably my single favorite food ever. You can make it savory or sweet and its always amazing.

I am not one for keeping foods for certain times of the year. I often make corned beef and cabbage in October and make a thanksgiving type dinner in March. Why should all the amazing food only be had once a year? I feel the same way about pumpkin. People only seem to use it in the fall. Why? I don’t know. Its great for healthy baking since it can be substituted for butter in a recipe. I just made this Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Icing for the first time this past fall, but I’ve already made it probably 10 times since.

IMG_4953

Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Icing

makes 10 slices

3 eggs

1/4 cup coconut palm sugar or honey

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling!)

3/4 cup flour (sprouted, whole wheat, all purpose)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/16(a couple pinches) cloves

icing:

6 oz cream cheese

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup powdered sugar (1/3 cup coconut palm sugar blended in a high speed blender for a few minutes until powdery)

Preheat oven to 375F.

Mix eggs, sugar, vanilla, and pumpkin. Mix flour, spices, baking powder, and salt in a separat bowl. Combine wet and dry.

IMG_4932

Spread on a 15 X 10 X 1 pan lined a silpat or greased parchment paper. Evenly spread batter out.

IMG_4935

Bake at 375 for 11-13 minutes. While its baking make your icing. Combine all ingredients and beat until combined and fluffy.

IMG_4937

When roll is finished baking, lay a kitchen towel down and sprinkle it with a TB of powdered sugar (so the roll doesn’t stick to it). Take cake off silpat, slowly, being careful not to tear the cake and lay it on the towel. Then roll it up, kitchen towel included, lengthwise.

IMG_4945

Roll it all the way up and let it cool for 15 minutes. Letting it cool this way ensures it doesn’t crack when rolled. If you were to try and roll it once it was cool, it would just break apart.

IMG_4946

Once its cool, gently unroll it, spread icing over, and roll back up.

IMG_4947

Refrigerate for 1-2 hours. You can also sprinkle with a little extra powdered sugar to make it look pretty if you want.

IMG_4950

Slice it up and devour!

IMG_4957

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 146

Fat: 5.5 g

Sodium: 165(7%)

Carbohydrates: 20.6 g

Sugars: 13 g

Protein: 5 g

About Fuel My Family

Hi, I'm Lindsay. Welcome to my life! I am a 25 year old mom of two girls and a marine corps wife. I run, cook, cloth diaper, sew, play dressup, chauffeur, and I love every second of it!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

