Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bites

Standard

After story time today, Cassidy passed out in her car seat right as we were pulling up to the house. I figured I’d take advantage of that time and quickly get in a workout. I put Cassidy in her crib (still in her car seat) and hopped on the treadmill. Last week when I ran, I didn’t warm up at all. Stupid, I know. Its like asking for an injury to just jump on and sprint. So this time my workout went like this…

0.25 mile warm up at 3.7 mph

1.0 mile run at 7.6 mph with intervals of 8.0 and 8.5

0.25 mile walk at 3.7 mph

0.5 mile run at 7.6-8.0 mph

0.5 mile walk incline 9.0 at 3.7 mph

After my run I did a little bit of abs and arms. Just some random arm exercises with free weights and various plank moves. I didn’t do too much because I started running around trying to get some chores done before Cassidy woke up and demanded food. But my little princess slept for 2 hours so I was able to do all my laundry, sweeping, dishes, etc and have time to play with Alyssa and have lunch just the two of us.

And on to dessert…Dessert was awesome!

IMG_5322

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana bites:

1 large banana

2 TB all natural peanut butter

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

2-3 TBs coconut

Slice 1 large banana into 1/2 inch slices and top with a smear of peanut butter. Lay them on wax paper and place them into the freezer fr 5-10 minutes while you melt the chocolate. Put chocolate chips into the microwave on low power until melted (stirring frequently). I then took the banana pieces out of the freezer, dipped each top into the chocolate and pressed a little coconut on top of the chocolate. Place them back into the freezer until the chocolate hardens but not so long that the banana freezes (20-30 minutes).

IMG_5325

These were so good and simple and made with ingredients I always have on hand. This is gluten free, tree nut free, and vegan, so it would fit just about any eating style!

10 responses »

  1. Mmm, I love the look of those bananas, so easy and yummy! I eat pb on bananas almost every day. 🙂 Great job on your 1 mile progress! I often find it takes me a mile to warm up, you might even want to try a little more warm up time, and I know you have that 7:30 in you!

    • Thanks for the tip and I agree! Since I felt so much better after just a 1/4 mile walking warmup I think I am going to warmup a little more next time to include a little jogging!

Leave a Reply

