My Mom’s Chicken Pot Pie

Standard

Growing up, we ate a lot of the same things for dinner. My brother was insanely picky and my mom is relatively picky as well so when my mom made something everyone would eat, it was a keeper. Of course I was not part of this equation since I eat and love absolutely all food (besides olives, they are just way too salty, do they have fresh olives without salt?). One of everyone’s favorite meals at my mom’s house has always been her Chicken Pot Pie. She made it for birthday dinners and family gatherings and its sure to please everyone. How can someone not like chicken and veggies? She got this recipe out of Cooking Light decades ago so its very healthy, and I only tweaked it a little to add a few extra vegetables and a little more seasoning.

IMG_5779

This is the meal I made for my fellow Marine Corps wife who recently lost her husband. I got a text message from her about an hour after I dropped it off saying “You can cook for me anytime! That was SO good!”. This is also the meal I make for new moms for 2 reasons. One, it is very healthy and losing that baby weight is on the back (or front) of all new mom’s minds. And two, it is very breastfeeding friendly. There are no gas producing veggies like broccoli or acidic foods like tomato sauces which are in all Italian casseroles. The only change I make for nursing moms is to use onion powder instead of real onions (just in case they give the baby gas, like they do both of my babies while nursing).

IMG_5922

Chicken Pot Pie

32 oz chicken broth

2 cups diced potatoes (skin optional)

1.5 cups diced carrots

1/2 cup diced onion

3/4 cup peas

2 cups cooked chicken, chopped or shredded

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup flour (sprouted preferably since theres no way to soak it in this recipe)

1 tsp poultry seasoning

1/4 tsp pepper

1 homemade pie crust or batch of biscuits

Boil broth in large pot. While it comes to a boil, chop the potatoes. Add the potatoes and cook for 5 minutes. During that time, chop the carrots and onion. Add carrot and onion and cook for 3 minutes.

IMG_5925

Add peas and chicken and cook for 2 minutes. During those 2 minutes combine the flour, milk, seasoning, and pepper. Stir until well mixed. Add to pot and cook 3 more minutes, stirring well.

Spray a 9 x 13 pan with cooking spray and pour vegetable mixture, with all liquid, in pan. Roll pie crust to roughly a 10 x 14 rectangle. Top with pie crust and fold down the edges. Or roll out biscuit dough and lay it on top. Bake at 350 F for 55 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

 

It is best reheated in the oven so the crust doesn’t get soggy.

IMG_5935

 

*You can use leftover rotisserie chicken, or bake raw chicken breasts on tin foil lined pan at 350 until center is no longer pink, or use leftover turkey at thanksgiving for a turkey pot pie.

*Make it vegetarian by omitting chicken and adding 2 cups of your favorite vegetable (or 1 can of white beans for protein)

This meal will feed the pickiest of eaters, trust me, my brother eats it.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

