Cranberry Almond Oatmeal Scone Recipe

Standard

I had never made a scone before the other day. I had a couple bookmarked but cookies, brownies, or puddings all won over when it was time to actually bake. When I was at my moms she mentioned making scones so I figured this was a great time to try it out. I searched the internet for a recipe base. But I can’t ever seem to make a recipe as it reads. I ended up basing my scones off this recipe, and changing a couple of ingredients and steps. The result was great! I will absolutely be making these again, and soon!

I would say a scone is like a slightly sweet biscuit with mixins similar to cookies. This is one of the few recipes I saw with oats and I loved the flavor and slight texture it added!

Cranberry Oatmeal Scones

1 1/4 cups  flour

3/4 cup old fashioned oats

2 Tbs sugar or honey + 1 tsp coarse sugar for dusting

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbs butter

2 Tbs plain yogurt

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/3 cup craisins

1/3 cup chopped almonds, optional add in

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips, optional add in

Preheat oven to 450F.

For starters, if you don’t have buttermilk, don’t worry. Just make some like I did. Place 1 Tbs of vinegar in a 1/2 cup measuring cup and fill the rest of the way with milk. Let it sit for about 10 minutes. You will now have 1/2 cup buttermilk. Reserve 1 Tbs of this.

Combine flour, oats, 2 Tbs sugar, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Cut up butter into small pieces and work into the dry mixture. Hands work well here. Mix craisins in. Add the almond extract and yogurt to your buttermilk (minus the 1 Tbs) and then add that to the dry mixture. Again, hands work best. A spoon just doesn’t cut it because the batter is so thick.

Form mixture into an 8 inch circle. No precise measurements needed, just eyeball it. Flatten and make it an even height. Roughly 3/4-1 inch. Cut circle into 8 pie pieces and spread out on greased baking sheet.

Brush tops with extra 1 Tbs of buttermilk and sprinkle tops with extra 1 tsp sugar. Bake at 450F for 12-15 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.

I had one fresh out of the oven, one with dinner, one as dessert, and some with breakfast the next morning.

They were delicious! For only 2 TB of sugar, they had a nice sweetness. And I love the flavor the oats and almond extract gave.

Adding 1/4 cup chopped dark chocolate or 1/3 cup chopped almonds were both great!

And honestly, they were just as good, if not somehow better, the next day. I have also made them with a full 4 Tbs of butter instead of 2 butter and 2 greek yogurt, which is still less butter than most scone recipes. It tasted the same the day of, but i would suspect the yogurt version wouldn’t last as many days out on the counter top. But we’ve never been able to find out since they’ve never made it that long without being devoured!

Considering how easy these are to make, being pretty healthy, versitle, and of course delicious, I forsee lots more scone making in my future. Alyssa will be thrilled with this news! She kept saying “um, can I have just one more little piece?”. I said ok finally. So she breaks off a little piece, leaves it on the plate, and starts eating the big piece (majority of the scone) that was left. Can’t blame the girl! And she is cute enough that I let her get away with it. Afterall, the original inspiration for the scones was to go with an afternoon of tea.

Nutritional Information:

calories: 193

fat: 4 g

sodium: 142 mg (6%)

Carbohydrates: 33 g

dietary fiber: 2.4 g

sugars: 8 g

protein: 5 g

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Diet November 2012 Menu | OAMC from Once A Month Mom

Leave a Reply

