Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe

Standard

The one food we can never eat because of Alyssa’s allergy is Chinese food. They have cashews in a lot of their dishes and lets be honest, I am not going to trust a typical Chinese restaurant to understand my child has a food allergy and to practice good separation practices. I make fried rice and lo mein often, but I wanted to try something a little different.

IMG_6565

Sweet and Sour Chicken was on the menu last week when we had some friends over. I was a little nervous making a new dish to serve for company but it turned out great! Alyssa gobbled it up and ate thirds! I made it again a couple nights later so I could save the recipe and measure things out before I forgot what I did. I needed to add this to the recipe files!

IMG_6432

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken:

serves 4

1 lb chicken (I used thighs), cut into 1 inch pieces

salt + pepper

1/4-1/3 cup cornstarch

1 egg, beaten

1 Tb oil

For the Sauce:

1/4 cup granulated sugar

3 Tbs chicken broth

2 Tbs pineapple juice

2 Tbs vinegar

1 Tb ketchup

1 Tb soy sauce

1/4 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp ginger

Salt and pepper the chicken then coat in the corn starch.

IMG_6558

Cover in the beaten egg.

IMG_6559

Heat oil in a frying pan over medium high heat and add chicken pieces. Cook for 3-5 minutes to slightly brown the outside, stirring the chicken a couple times.

IMG_6561

Mix all of the sauce ingredients together.

Place the chicken in a greased baking dish and pour 3/4 of the sauce over to coat chicken. Cook at 325 F for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Heat remaining sauce in microwave for a minute then pour over finished chicken.

IMG_6431

Serve over brown rice to soak up some of that extra sauce and a side of steamed veggies. Or with some homemade vegetable fried rice like I did the first time I made it.

IMG_6562

The corn starch and egg puffed up nicely and soaked up the sauce. This tasted like authentic Chinese food but without the greasy after feeling.  Enjoy the takeout taste without the takeout grease!

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 310

Fat: 8 g

Sodium: 391 mg (16%)

Carbohydrates: 22 g

Sugars: 14 g

Protein: 35 g

5 responses »

  1. I have been looking for a good sweet and sour chicken recipe–I will have to give this one a try! I don’t blame you for not trusting restaurants with food allergies. I’m highly allergic to fish and I always get nervous when I eat out and make a special note of that.

    • Its getting a little easier now that she is older and knows she can’t eat nuts. But she’s still 3 so i have to watch her closely. I went to Severn for high school then Loyola for college. I don’t remember who won in field hockey, although I have my old field hockey year books so I could check 🙂

      • My brother has had a severe nut allergy since he was a baby (he is now 15), so I know what you’re going through! He can now finally have almonds–it’s a start!

        I’m guessing Severn is in Severna Park? I used to live in the area! Now I live right outside of Towson, so I’m close to Loyola. Maybe it’s best not to pull out those old books! 🙂

  2. Just had this for dinner and it was amazing…since i use a can of crushed pineapple to get the juice, i just throw the pineapple in with the chicken as it bakes…it is a winner in this household!

Leave a Reply

