Another Good Weekend Turned Bad

Standard

Let’s start off with the good… We kicked off our weekend on Friday blueberry picking. We have a pesticide free farm right down the street. We picked almost 4 pints of blueberries. The farm owner also sells zucchini, cucumbers, honey, eggs, and more depending on the season and his crop production. I talked to the owner about some zucchini growing tips and when it came time to pay he gave me a HUGE deal. 4 pints of blueberries, 5 cucumbers, and 2 squash for a whopping 5 bucks! And all pesticide free. One pint of organic blueberries are often more than $5 alone! We spent the rest of the day at the pool and the girls had an amazing time. Cassidy is fearless in the water just like her big sister!

IMG_6569

Saturday we went to Lowes for the kid’s build and grow workshop. Alyssa “bammed” as she says, which means hammered. She built a little wooden car and got a free pair of goggles and an apron. It was really cute! The rest of the day was pretty low key. We made some hummus and ate 3 of our cucumbers and 2 peppers out of our own garden.

IMG_6566

We also baked more homemade graham crackers and some cookie dough hummus for dipping.

IMG_6574

Sunday we went to church and I left Cassidy in the church nursery for the first time! I only left her for half the service because I didn’t want to let her get to the point where she was crying and fed up. She did great though. We had lunch at church and helped set up for the upcoming vacation bible school Alyssa will be attending all week. It’s the first time I have ever dropped her off somewhere and left. She has yet to go to preschool either. I am quite nervous, especially with her nut allergy. They assured me there was not nuts in anything they are serving and I was almost going to let her eat the same snack as the other kids. But I got a reality check and my paranoid parenting kicked back in on Sunday night and I decided I would pack her own snacks for the week. And for Thursday I am actually making snack for the entire VBS, 250 rice krispie treats! And what was my reality check?

IMG_6680

We had an allergy issue Sunday night. Although it wasn’t with Alyssa. I fried 2 organic eggs to top on a salad as part of dinner. I took the yolk out of one egg and fed it to Cassidy. After her second bite she started rubbing all over her face and I noticed she looked like this.

IMG_6681

She had hives all around her mouth. I remember this all too well from Alyssa’s reaction to cashews. I washed her down, took the egg out of her mouth, and called ask a nurse. She told me babies can’t have egg whites before one, something I already knew. And I am that overly paranoid mom that follows ALL the rules. If she was 11 1/2 months, I still wouldn’t have given her the whites until her actual 1st birthday. I told the nurse I knew that and I only gave her the yolk.

Then get this…she says “well do you think the white could have accidentally touched the yolk?”. Umm are you serious? Of course the yolk touched the white, haven’t you ever seen an egg?! The yolk is surrounded by the white! I obviously meant to remove all the egg white, but maybe there was a tiny bit left on there? But at 10 1/2 months, she is pretty close to 1 and I know plenty of moms who give their kids scrambled eggs well before 1, so it shouldn’t have been a huge deal if a microscopic piece of egg white was left on. But apparently it was. She has eaten egg yolks plenty of times the last month or two with no problem and has eaten things like pancakes and breads made with egg (which is considered ok before 1).

We are headed to her pediatrician tomorrow morning and then to a pediatric allergist soon after.

Not even a fresh loaf of chocolate zucchini bread could make this better. Although it was quite tasty.

IMG_6683

So now I guess we will have a nut free and egg free house. And since I am breastfeeding I think I am going to have to avoid egg containing foods as well. I just don’t understand… I feed them so healthy, they rarely eat processed foods, and I follow all the recommendations on introducing allergenic foods…why are so many kids developing food allergies these days?

11 responses »

  1. Awwww, so sorry to hear about the stressful end to the weekend you had! I wish I had an answer for you about allergies- interesting question from your nurse. 😉 I am hopeful your sweet baby is doing better today and good luck with the VBS snack later in the week!

    • she is doing fine today, thanks! It will be a pain for sure but I am already used to label reading for Alyssa at least. I am sure I will never want to make rice krispie treats again after this week!

  2. Poor baby C!!!…even her lip looks swollen…I too wonder what is up with all of the food allergies in kids…I do not remember 1 person growing up that had a food allergy…I also remember almost no obese people…they were such a rarity…I often wish we could go back to 50s style living..was far simpler in many ways.. there should be grant $ somewhere to look into this food allergy issue..it would be one thing if the allergies were just annoying but they are life threatening!!!…good luck at the doctor’s today…you are in my thoughts and prayers…always!…LY

  3. Oh, no! Allergies always scared me… although thankfully we never had any with L… so sorry you have to get rid of eggs, too. 😦
    So fun that you got to go blueberry picking! Although they take some time, I think blueberries are my favorite u-pick fruit. Can’t beat a farm right down the road!

    • Do you mind if i ask you a couple questions then?! Can you eat eggs cooked IN things and its just that you can’t have a straight scrambled egg? Do you only have a skin reaction or breathing issues as well with an epi pen? Sorry for the questions but the egg allergy seems to be very different than Alyssa’s nut allergy I have been dealing with for the last couple years.

      • My egg allergy is actually a digestive issue. I don’t have any of the typical egg allergy symptoms and the only reason I found out was because I thought I had an issue with gluten.

        For me, I can’t eat anything with eggs- straight eggs or eggs cooked in things. My guess is that its the same with all egg allergies but I don’t know for sure.

        Sorry I can’t be of more help but I wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

