Munchkin Meals; Breakfast Edition

Standard

For breakfast I usually go the quick route. Between nursing, pumping, changing diaper, and getting kids downstairs, I am often awake for about 45 minutes before I make breakfast so I am starving! We go for whole grains. fruit, and milk at breakfast time. We try to go carb heavy at breakfast since that’s the best time to have them so you have the rest of the day for your body to burn them. Although honestly, we eat just as many carbs at dinner. What can I say, we love our carbs around here! We used to eat eggs in there occasionally but with Cassidy’s new egg allergy, they are obviously out. We go to the allergist in a few weeks but until then we can’t have anything with eggs at all. That takes out traditional pancakes and waffles too. Anyone have a great egg free pancake and waffle recipe? Please share!

So its milk, whole grain, and fruit around here…

Cassidy’s milk comes in the form of breastmilk. She nurses as soon as she wakes up. And I mean as soon as. I walk into her room greeted by the smiliest baby ever but the second I pick her up she flings herself towards the rocker in her room that I nurse her in. It gets ugly if her diaper is leaking and she has to have a diaper change first. After I nurse her, I change her, pump the other side, get Alyssa, and we all head down for breakfast.

Cassidy’s whole grain is usually either:

-plain cheerios

-rice or wheat puffs

-pancakes

Her fruit is either:

-blueberries (choice as of late since the local organic blueberry farm is in picking season)

-bananas, peaches, apples, pears, or raspberries.

IMG_6749

She is really not much of a breakfast eater since she nurses right before breakfast but she is starting to eat more and more. Breastfeeding is starting to be more her snacks and table food is slowly transitioning to her main meals. I guess that’s what happens since she is 11 months now somehow!

Alyssa is starving like me right when she wakes up. For her milk she gets a 10 oz glass of organic 2% or whole milk. She usually drinks this after breakfast because otherwise she won’t eat much. I put her milk in a sippy cup still and she tips it back and chugs it, barely taking a breath until its gone. Girl loves her milk. Lately I have been giving her half breastmilk mixed in her cup. She doesn’t know it. She just thinks its chocolate milk since breastmilk is much sweeter than cows milk. I have roughly 500 ounces in my freezer (and that’s after giving about 300 oz to a friend who couldn’t produce enough) and its going to go bad if I don’t use it faster. Cassidy uses 2 oz every evening with her oatmeal cereal but refuses a bottle and a sippy cup. I pump about 4 oz a day, sometimes more depending on how full I am when I wake up. I know some people may think its weird, and I did a little too before I thought about it.  I know a 3 1/2 year old doesn’t need human breastmilk but she drinks cows breastmilk every morning, why wouldn’t human breastmilk (her own species) be even better for her. I am seriously a cow when it comes to nursing, I have certainly never had a problem producing enough milk!

IMG_6754

For Alyssa’s whole grain she has either

-cereal (raisin bran, shredded wheat, multigrain cheerios, brown rice krispies, chex) with cut up fruit on top (blueberries, strawberries, banana, peaches) and a tiny bit of whole milk.

-pancakes (banana, pumpkin, zucchini, or blueberry)

-oatmeal. She LOVES oatmeal, its her favorite.

-homemade whole wheat biscuits and turkey sausage gravy (maybe one a month on the weekends)

IMG_6752

Alyssa’s favorite oatmeal:

1/3 cup old fashioned oats

1/3 cup whole milk

1/4 cup water

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 banana

1/2 Tbs flax seeds

1/2 Tbs peanut butter or sunbutter

We mix the oats, milk, water, and cinnamon and microwave for a couple minutes, stirring every 45 seconds so it doesn’t overflow. I mash the banana in and add the flax, peanut butter, and an ice cube to cool it down. She will seriously eat this in under 2 minutes then beg me for some of mine. I don’t add any sugar to her oats, just the sweetness of the bananas. Sometimes we do frozen blueberries instead of the banana too.

I have an empty almond butter jar in my pantry so Alyssa may get lucky and get her oatmeal tomorrow morning.

Does anyone have any good egg free breakfast recipes, casseroles, etc they could share or link up to?

11 responses »

  1. Love this! So fun to read about what you are feeding your littles! I think that’s cool that you are giving Alyssa some of your breast milk. Why not? And I’m glad I’m not the only one whose baby goes psycho for the first nursing of the day- it can be quite a battle to change her diaper some mornings! 🙂 Wish I knew of an egg free pancake recipe- all I can think of is replacing the eggs with a flax egg instead… http://www.ohsheglows.com is vegan and has a million recipes so she might have something for you too! 🙂

  2. What kind of flax seeds do you use, and do you grind them first? I’ve never used them but would like to try them!

    • I buy either bobs red mill or whole foods. And I grind them using my magic bullet or coffee grinder. You can’t digest them or get the nutrients out since your body can’t break them down, unless they’re ground first. Sometimes though, I use them whole because I like they give a little crunch like a nut.

Leave a Reply

