Dave’s Favorite Meatloaf Recipe

Standard

When my husband has been gone for a while, I always tell him I want to cook him a special meal. That means I will make homemade sushi, steam fresh seafood, etc. And what does he pick? He pretty much without fail will choose meatloaf. Although its something he likes to eat at home only and prefers my recipe over any others. I have found that’s common with meatloaf though. Most men think their wife’s recipe is the best. My recipe is simple, with little fillers. Its not overloaded with breadcrumbs nor does it have any chunks of onion or peppers (which makes it much more kid friendly). It only takes about 5 minutes to put together too.

IMG_6446

Meatloaf with Sweet Glaze

serves 5

1 lb ground beef or ground turkey

1 egg

1 Tbs greek yogurt (optional, keeps moist if using a very lean meat)

1/4 cup Italian panko

1 tsp onion powder

2 garlic cloves, crushed (or 1 tsp pre chopped garlic)

1/2 tsp oregano

sauce on top:

2 Tbs ketchup

2 tsp honey (or brown sugar)

Mix all ingredients together besides sauce ingredients. Hands work best. Press into a loaf pan with hands. No need to grease it, the meat has enough grease (unless you get the 99% lean ground turkey).

IMG_6442

Cook at 350F for 30-40 minutes, until meat is no longer pink in center. Mix ketchup and brown sugar together after you start cooking it and spread on meatloaf for last 15 minutes of cook time.

IMG_6443

I served mine alongside steamed green beans and spinach parmesan millet.

IMG_6445

The sauce on the top is amazing and so simple. I know some recipes have a BBQ sauce on top, but I am not a fan of that, nor is my husband. I often double the recipe because Dave (well and me too) loves meatloaf sandwiches for lunch the next day. Doubling the recipes works perfectly. The only difference is extending the cooking time by roughly 15 minutes.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 251

Fat: 13 g

Sodium: 216 mg (9%)

Carbohydrates: 8.7 g

Sugars: 4 g

Protein: 27 g

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

