Turkey Curry Recipe

Standard

I buy ground turkey at the commissary (military grocery store) every week. It is one of the few organic meats they carry and the commissary is cheap! It usually gets made into meatballs, meatloaf, or tacos. I needed more options. I started throwing things into a frying pan and a great dish was born. A lot of times when I make a new recipe, I have a couple recipes that I use as a guide. This time I completely winged it. Sometimes that means you have a dinner that’s less than stellar. This time, it meant I made a great dinner that my kids loved as well!

Ground Turkey Curry

serves 4-6

1 lb ground turkey

1 large eggplant, skinned and cut into 1/2 inch cubes (optional)

1 1/2 cups tomatoes, diced

1/4-1/2 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup coconut milk

1/4 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp parsley

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp garam marsala (optional, if you want it to have a slight Indian flavor)

Brown ground turkey in a frying pan. Add diced tomatoes, with all the juices included. Add all other ingredients, cover, and cook on low for 20 minutes stiring once or twice. DONE. How easy is that?

We have eaten it 3 different ways so far…

1. Served over brown rice

2. Use flatbread or naan to sop up sauce (my favorite)

3. put on top of open faced english muffin (sausage biscuits and gravy style)

More options:

I omited the eggplant once since we didnt have any on hand and served it alongside roasted cauliflower instead. I actually liked it a lot because it was saucier which meant an excuse to eat more bread to sop it up!

If you like Indian food, add the garam marsala. If you just really love curry, omit the garam marsala so the curry flavor shines through.

Alyssa loved it. She finished her portion then mooched off of my plate. She is seriously such a great eater, not picky at all thank goodness! But this really is mild enough that I think most kids would approve. Cassidy enjoyed it as well.

Nutritional facts

(1 serving, assuming recipe makes 4 servings)

Calories: 238

Fat: 12 g

Cholesterol: 80mg (27%)

Sodium:  141 mg (6%)

Total Carbohydrates: 10 g

Dietary Fiber: 5g

Sugars: 5 g

Protein: 25 g

4 responses »

  1. It was easy and awesome! My husband loved it. We had it served over brown rice and I can’t wait to have the left overs for dinner tonight! Thanks!!

    • great, I’m glad you both liked it! Easy is what i go for since i often just cook for myself and 2 kids when my husband is gone. I still want healthy and delicious but time is something i dont have too much of!

Leave a Reply

