My First CSA Pickup!

Standard

Last night I picked up my very first CSA box!! I am beyond excited. I definitely have a fresh produce obsession (to complement my massive sweet tooth). My box costs $20 a week and this week I got 4 eggplant, 2 large tomatoes, 1 carton yellow cherry tomatoes, 4 peaches, small watermelon, big bunch of green onions, 4 jalepenos, 2 banana peppers, 1 red bell pepper, and an absolutely huge bag of okra (maybe 6-8 cups worth!).

Dave asked me if that was expensive or not. I really didn’t think so at all. It is all local and organic and everything was actually really good in size!

You could say I incorporated the produce into my day’s meals for sure…

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast: 2 bowls homemade almond bran flakes with 1 banana and 1 cup skim milk. LOVED this cereal and it was high in protein. I will post the recipe soon.

IMG_6896

Snack 1: One and a half blueberry cake donuts and a decaf skim latte.

IMG_6903

The donuts were sitting out at a Princess story time we went to this morning. I could not resist going back for another half, they were particularly delicious. And I clearly had the cutest princess there Smile.

Lunch: As many veggies out of my CSA box that my body could physically consume! Literally…

2 cups cut up okra lightly breaded in cornmeal and baked

4 huge jalopenos (they were so big I thought they were funny shaped bell peppers at first) stuffed with cream cheese

a personal sized watermelon

Another massive pepper…I think a banana pepper this time

And a big ole peach

IMG_6907IMG_6908IMG_6910IMG_6911IMG_6921

I would say all that produce balanced out my multiple donuts as a snack, right?

Although I swear I had something else a little more substational for lunch but I can’t remember what it was for the life of me. Thats what happens when I eat on the go while I prepare lunch for the kids.

Dinner: Grilled cheese with thick tomato slices and 2 slices cheese, plus a delicious tomato salad, once again with tomatoes from my CSA box.

IMG_6915

Snack: Half of a loaf of banana bread plus the top “crust” off the other half. No wonder I was so hungry still. Looking back at my dinner, why in the heck did I make such a tiny meal??

IMG_6918

Oh well, it was just a good excuse to dominate that bread! I think the other half will be breakfast, good thing its such a healthy recipe.

15 responses »

    • I always buy more bananas than we eat so that some purposefully go brown but chocolate bread sounds pretty dang good! I ate the entire loaf in under 24 hours (by myself with a little help from the kids). I love any kind of quick bread!

  1. I want that peach!!!!…maybe mountain man should start a CSA…that would be fun!!…can we make some homemade cereal sometime?

Leave a Reply

