Healthy Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

It is definitely fall around here and I am so excited. It is by far my favorite season. And this fall something incredibly important is happening in our lives which I will write about more as the time comes closer. This event will pretty much be like Christmas morning times a million. Anyway, I love making winter squash soups in the fall. They are quick, easy, and healthy. I foresee myself making this quite often this fall since I just bought an immersion blender for this purpose alone. I am already in love with my new kitchen gadget. Instead of cleaning an entire blender, I just had to rinse off the attachment real quick. Who doesn’t love something that eliminates dishes? And the fact that my kids loved it, that always makes life easier too.

IMG_7318

Creamy Butternut Squash Soup

serves 4

1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1 large green onion, roughly chopped

3/4 cup reduced sodium chicken or vegetable broth

1/4 tsp garlic salt

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

Place all ingredients besides the greek yogurt in a small crockpot and set on high for 5 hours. You could also set it on low and let it go all day while you are at work. We ate it at lunch, so therefore we used high heat.

IMG_7313

When squash is tender, add greek yogurt and use immersion blender and puree until desired consistency. I like mine a little chunky so I don’t puree it too smooth.

Top with extra greek yogurt and a sprinkle of nutmeg.

IMG_7319

It was mom, preschooler, husband, and baby approved…

IMG_7330IMG_7329IMG_7332

Nutritional Information

calories: 126

fat: 1 g

carbs: 27.5 g

dietary fiber: 4 g

protein: 6 g

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 30 Creamy Crockpot Soup Recipes | Stretching a Buck

Leave a Reply

