Breakfast Pumpkin Bread

Standard

Growing up my mom always made her own pumpkin puree and never used the canned stuff. When I got out on my own, canned was just easier and I have been using it for a couple years. This year however, as I get more and more into making everything from scratch, I decided I’d make my own puree. And I admit, my mom is right, it is SO much better. I think 2 things are crucial though in pureeing your own pumpkin. One, do not boil it. It comes out watery and therefore not a concentrated pumpkin taste. You have to roast it. It really brings out the sweetness in the pumpkin resulting in less sugar needed in recipes. Two, use pie pumpkins not regular carving ones. Once again, its just more of a concentrated pumpkin taste. I was literally eating the pumpkin puree by the spoonful, so were my kids. Naturally, I had to bake with it right away. Quick breads last about 24 hours in my house. Its healthy enough to breakfast, a snack, or a feel good dessert!

IMG_7365

Pumpkin Bread:

makes 12 slices

1 1/3 cup pumpkin puree

1 Tbs coconut oil, melted (or canola)

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup water

2 eggs

1 + 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 cup raisins, craisins, chocolate chips, or pecans (or a combination), optional

IMG_7368

Mix pumpkin, oil, sugars, water, and eggs in one bowl.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and spices in another bowl.

Mix wet and dry together, stirring just until combined.

Bake in a greased loaf pan at 350F for 1 hour or until tester comes out almost (don’t want to dry it out) clean.

Or bake in 12 greased muffin tins at 350F for 30-45 minutes.

Now try not to eat it all in one day…if you figure out how to do this, let me know! My loaf was eaten entirely by myself (Alyssa had 1 slice but I wasn’t a very good sharer) in 36 hours and I don’t regret a single bite!

IMG_7366

Nutritional Information (not including add ins):

 1 slice

Calories: 108

fat: 2 g

Sodium: 117 mg (5% DV)

Carbohydrates: 20 g

Dietary fiber: 2.4 g

Sugars: 8.6 g

Protein: 3.2 g

Vitamin  A: 85% DV (gotta love those orange veggies)

Seriosuly only a little over 100 calories and very low in sugar and sodium. Who would ever want one of those processed 100 calorie packs when you could have a good size slice of homemade pumpkin bread? So much healthier and with a serving of veggies too!

6 responses »

  1. I am makin this bread as soon as I get home…hopefully you will make the 36 hour cut so there will be some for you when you arrive!!…lol…I am a preety good sharer…I think…

  2. Just came across your blog and I love the healthy recipes. I have been using pumpkin in muffin recipes and am always looking for new ones. This sounds yummy:)

Leave a Reply

