Lower Body Sculpt

Standard

I usually go in phases as to what body part I work on. I workout and eat well mostly for health reasons, but I’d be lying if vanity had nothing at all to do with it. My body part of choice is usually abs since I don’t have one of those naturally washboard flat stomachs, I have to work at it. And having 2 kids didn’t help matters. But I am actually pretty pleased with my abs at the moment, so I decided I was going to work on my butt and legs some more. Normally I just figure running works my lower body pretty well so I do some burpees and squats here and there but I rarely have a “leg workout day”. Well lately I havent been runnnig quite as much since I have been loving circuit workouts instead. Enter, my first lower body workout in a long time…

lower body sculpt

Sliders: get in a squat position and slide across the room in one direction. Stop and slide the other way.

Dead Lifts: focus on using your butt and hamstrings to raise up and not your back. Use two 15 lbs dumbbells

Plank Jacks: In raised plank position, Jump feet out, jump back together, just like a jumping jack. Keep back straight.

Cleans: I used two 15 lbs dumbbells

Sidewalks: Tie resistance band around ankles, feet shoulder width apart, walk sideways to left across room, then right.

Diagonal Raise: feet wide, legs straight, dumbbell in right hand. Raise dumbell up then lower to left foot. repeat. Do for 30 seconds, repeat on left side.

v-sit crunch: place hands on ground behind you if needed

dumbell swing: may use kettle bell instead

Supermans: hold for the minute, rest when needed

Frog Jumps: Squat, touch floor with fingertips, jump high as you can, extending hands upwards. repeat.

It still has cardio moves and ab moves and even a little arm action, but it is mainly focused on the lower body. My legs were pretty fatigued afterwards going up the stairs to get Cassidy up from her nap. I really need to workout legs more since they contain some of the largest muscles in the body.

Entire workout takes 21 minutes if repeated twice and 32 minutes if done 3 times. And if you only have 10 minutes in your day, just do it once, every bit counts!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hump Day Happenings « mamas13minutemile

Leave a Reply

