Garden Success

Standard

My garden this fall has been doing great! The summers in Eastern NC are so hot that I havent had the best of luck with summer gardens. This year I decided to plant a fall crop as well since its stays warm here pretty late into the year. I am so glad I did. Today I picked 5 green peppers, 5 eggplant, 3 huge bunches mustard greens, and a batch of green beans. I also have 4 heads of broccoli that should be ready to pick before long. Oh and the okra plant is doing well too but I can’t seem to get my hands on any. The second I pick them, they are stolen and devoured raw by this little one…

IMG_7480IMG_7482IMG_7484IMG_7485

I also have some tiny pumpkins starting to grow. They won’t be ready by Halloween for sure but I have been eating so much pumpkin lately, I can’t wait to pick them straight from my backyard. I may start turning orange from all the pumpkin I have been consuming. At least it’s a vegetable, right?

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

Breakfast: 1 cup plain greek yogurt mixed with 1/2 cup pumpkin. 2 pumpkin scones. decaf coffee.

Lunch: Egg and cheese with hot sauce on a homemade tortilla. Big salad with roasted beets, goat cheese, and chick peas. Pumpkin brownie. A couple fresh out of the oven graham crackers (in the shape of gravestones for a Halloween party).

IMG_7502IMG_7504IMG_7496

Dinner: BBQ shrimp and zucchini, fresh off the griddle homemade English muffin with jam.

IMG_7522

Plus another English muffin…they are one of the best things I’ve made in a while.  Good thing my recipe made 24! I should be set for maybe a week. Unless Alyssa gets her little hands on them, then they may only be around for 2 days.  She was in love.

Dessert: another healthy pumpkin brownie (recipe to come on friday!)

12 responses »

  1. are you going to post your pumpkin brownie recipe?…thanx for the pics…you have a budding Lindsay there…Cassidy looks so much like you …with traits like Uncle Ronnie…cant wait to see you all…LY

  2. That’s awesome that your garden is doing so well! I don’t think I’ve ever had raw okra, and only had it cooked a few times, but that pic of your little one devouring it is precious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

