Healthy Fudgy Pumpkin Brownies Recipe

Standard

I love fudgy brownies. I always cut out the very center piece of a tray of brownies. However every time I try a healthy brownie recipe, they are always way too cake like and dry and not fudgy enough.  I am happy to report I finally found my go to healthy brownie recipe! I typed this recipe up about 10 minutes after eating my brownies so I didn’t forget what I did. The pumpkin spice gives it a nice fall touch which was inspired by a pumpkin hot chocolate I tasted the other day. If pumpkin isnt your thing, just omit the pumpkin spice. You can still use the pumpkin puree and the chocolate will overtake the pumpkin taste, don’t worry. Oh and they are 99 calories a piece. Say goodbye to processed 100 calorie packs and hello to homemade nutrient dense brownies with 100% whole grains, veggies, and very low in sugar!

Healthy, Fudgy Pumpkin Brownies

Makes 16

3 oz chocolate chips

2 Tbs butter

3/4 cup pumpkin puree

2 Tbs honey

1/4 cup + 2 Tbs sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup milk, almond or cows

1 egg

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

3/4 tsp pumpkin spice

1/4 tsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbs chocolate chips + 1/4 tsp coconut oil for drizzle (optional)

Melt chocolate and butter in microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments until melted. Stirring frequently. Add pumpkin through egg.

Stir together dry indregents; flour, cocoa, baking powder, pumpkin spice, cinnamon, and salt.

Combine wet and dry.

Bake in greased 8×8 baking pan at 350F for 30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.

If you are adding the drizzle, melt chocolate chips with coconut oil in microwave and drizzle over slightly cooled cooked brownies.

Nutritional Information

Calories: 107

Fat: 3.4 g

Sodium: 50 mg (2%)

Carbohydrates: 16.3 g

Dietary Fiber: 1.3 g

Sugars: 10.4

Protein: 2 g

Although I kind of wish I didnt know how not bad these brownies are for me because i find myself justifying eating way too many. They have less sugar per brownie than a small serving of cereal or 100 calorie packs but much more satisfying!

2 responses »

  1. I should have opened this post before the other one…I am gonna make these tonite…btw my sitter is a huge sweet potato fan…she LOVES it when Andy has a good crop of them…she blanches them and cuts them into circles about 3/4 inch thick then freezes them…she makes sweet potato casseroles (can you create a healthy one of those????) for church suppers and all…her husband is a pastor…she also cuts them into fries (does not blanch them first) and freezes them as well…I have to get me a chest freezer!!!..I know what I will be doing here comin up…Andy’s kitchen is FULL of sweet potatoes…some are HUGE….too bad you are not a bit closer so we could get together and prepare them…and we could use our food savers!!…I hope one day soon you will be close enough to do this kind of stuff together!!!…my fingers are crossed!!!!..LY

  2. we were the perfect combination brownie eaters…you take out the middle…i cut all around the sides…I wonder if I use my edges pan that Amber gave me if that would work on these…I am gonna try it but may need to double the recipe…which is not a bad thing!!

Leave a Reply

