Ginger Chicken Lo Mein Recipe

Standard

Does anyone else always get incredibly stuffed after eating Chinese food just to be starving again an hour later? I don’t get it. I guess it just goes to show the quality, or lack there of, of the ingredients used. We have not had chinese take out in 2 1/2 years, ever since we found out Alyssa had a tree nut allergy. Its not a food we ate often but I still missed it. But now I can honestly say that after making my own fried rice, sweet and sour chicken, stir fry sauce, and now ginger lo mein, I no long have any desire to eat the take out versions!

IMG_7949

I received bok choy in my vegetable delivery box last week and decided lo mein would be perfect. I’ve had organic whole wheat lo mein noodles sitting in my cabinet, so it worked out well. After taking the first bite Dave declared it worthy of repeating. I hadn’t planned on posting the recipe to the blog since I kind of just threw things together but I went and got my camera and a pen and paper. I took a picture of his and Alyssa’s plates and wrote down exactly what I did before I forgot.

IMG_7950

Healthy, quick, delicious Chinese food…its rare to find!

Ginger Chicken Lo Mein

serves 4

1/4 cup chicken broth

1.5 lbs chicken

1 large bunch bok choy

8 oz mushrooms

1 can bean sprouts, drained

6 oz lo mein noodles or linguini

For the sauce:

1/4 cup white wine

1/4 cup soy sauce

4 cloves garlic, minced

4 tsp corn starch

2 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp sugar

freshly cracked pepper

Add chicken broth to large skillet or wok and turn on medium heat.

Cut up chicken into bite sized pieces. Chop the bok choy (white and green parts) and mushrooms. Add all to the chicken broth and cook until vegetables are soft and chicken is cooked through, roughly 10-15 minutes.

Cook lo mein noodles or pasta according to directions. Cook al dente since it will cook a little more once added to the wok.

Mix all sauce ingredients together in a separate bowl.

Once the chicken/veggie mixture is cooked, add the drained pasta, bean sprouts, and sauce to the wok. Stir often and cook until sauce thickens, about 5-10 minutes.

Cover and let sit for a couple minutes for the sauce to gel and really soak into everything.

IMG_7951

There isn’t a single chinese take out restaurant dish that can compare to these nutritional stats either. Its even relatively low in sodium.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 504

fat: 10 g

Sodium: 768 mg (32%)

Carbs: 36 g

Dietary fiber: 2 g

Sugar: 2.5 g

Protein: 64 g

4 responses »

  1. might just be on our table tonite…unfortunately I dont have some of the stuff on hand but this might be worth a trip to Giant…:)…LOVED visiting last nite…Lys is SO funny…

  2. Just made this for dinner…substitued carmelized onions for the mushrooms…my was it tasty…not a speck left on our plates…now ihave some for lunch tomorrow too!!!…thanx so much…Madden said to tell you thanx as well…LY…post more chinese recipes….I had never had bok choy before this recipe…I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

