My Recent Food Obsession

Standard

IMG_7982

I am on a hardcore sweet potato kick lately. Well maybe its not a “kick” since its been ongoing for about 6 months now. I eat a sweet potato every. single. day. Sometimes two. I just can’t get enough. I scrub them well (I eat the skin), poke with holes, wrap in tin foil, then bake at 400 F for 60-90 minutes depending on the size. I like them really soft. I usually bake half a dozen every week and then reheat them for my lunches.

The toppings are where it gets creative. I have yet to make a combination that wasn’t amazing. Pretty much take any leftover and reheat it ontop of the sweet potato. A couple especially delicious ones have been a sweet potato topped with…

-leftover chili and shredded cheddar cheese

-sauteed cabbage and cottage cheese

-leftover chicken, broccoli, and greek yogurt

-leftover taco meat, lettuce, greek yogurt

-leftover BBQ chicken, cauliflower, and cottage cheese.

 

-And lastly, for breakfast…2 scrambled eggs, spinach, 1 piece crumbled bacon, sharp cheddar

Loaded Baked Sweet Potato:

1 sweet potato

3 oz cooked meat or beans

1/2 cup cooked vegetable

1/2 cup cottage cheese, greek yogurt, or 1/4 cup shredded cheese

Just add the meat or bean and roasted veggie to the sliced open sweet potato. Reheat in microwave or oven until hot. Add the dairy after you heat everything else up.

Perfect meal of carbohydrates from the sweet potato, protein, veg, and fat from the dairy. I seriously look forward to lunches now every day because of this. It gives me that salty and sweet combination of flavors.

I served one to Dave one day and after a couple bites he said “wow this is amazing. I thought it was going to be disgusting”. It was the cabbage and cottage cheese version. Thanks for the vote of confidence Dave, but at least he quickly changed his mind after he tried it. So we will call this my what I ate wednesday and every other day of the week!

4 responses »

  1. I totally understand your addiction. I love sweet potatoes, too, but I got in the habit of eating kabocha squash . . . every day! So good.

    For the sweet potatoes, I love topping with black beans and hot sauce! Also, have you tried drizzling with almond butter and sprinkled with cinnamon. omg. just omg.

Leave a Reply

