Whole Wheat Buttermilk Bread

Standard

This bread is where its at. Best bread recipe I’ve come across to date. Well I didn’t so much come across it as I did ask my Grandma Linda for it. She sent me the link to the recipe two weeks ago and I’ve made it 4 times in the last 2 weeks to make it slightly healthier. I reduced the butter and added whole wheat flour and a little extra buttermilk.

IMG_7988

We try not to eat too many wheat products, not because we are gluten free by any means, but we try and get different sources of whole grains. Most of the United States eats nothing but wheat and some rice. What about quinoa, millet, barley, oats, etc? But this bread has been making me want to forgo my other grains and just eat this every night!

IMG_7984

We eat it mostly as a loaf of bread with dinner. To sop up chicken marsala sauce or eat in chunks alongside a steak dinner. But its such a versatile recipe and also works out beautifully as sandwich bread. And a couple days later for french toast. It holds up nicely when its thinly sliced, which I like. Other homemade sandwich breads I’ve made fall apart if sliced thin. But this doesn’t.

IMG_7985

We can’t keep our hands off of it. I would like to say one of my children dug at the bread like this when I wasn’t looking but I’ll be honest…it was me.

IMG_7987

I’m smart enough to put it out of their reach or else there wouldn’t be a crumb left.

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Bread, Dinner Loaf or Sandwich Bread

Makes 16 thin sandwich slices or 8 thick dinner slices

1/4 cup warm water

1 package (.25 ounce) active dry yeast

2 Tbs white sugar

3/4 cup + 2 Tbs cultured buttermilk (skim works fine)

2 Tbs butter

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

2 1/2 cups + 2 Tbs whole wheat bread flour*

Place warm water, yeast, and sugar in stand mixer. Proof yeast for 5-10 minutes.

While that’s sitting, heat up buttermilk and sugar in saucepan or in microwave safe bowl. Heat just enough until butter is melted. Let it cool to a warm temperature (not too hot) so it doesn’t kill the yeast. Stir in salt and baking soda.

Add buttermilk mixture to yeast along with 2 cups of flour. Mix together then add the remaining flour until its fully combined.

Knead using dough hook for 3-5 minutes. Take out and knead on countertop for a minute.

Spray bowl with cooking spray, put dough back into bowl, turn to slightly coat in oil, and cover. Let sit until doubled in size, roughly 1 hour depending on how warm of a spot its sitting in. I usually open my curtains and let the sun shine in on it.

After its doubled in size, punch it down and place in a greased loaf pan. Again cover and let rise. When its getting close to the top remove the plastic wrap or towel that was covering it and allow it to rise until its about an inch over the top of the pan. This will take almost another hour.

Bake at 375 F for 20-30 minutes.

We like ours slightly underdone and dense so we go more towards 20 minutes.

When we slice it and use it for sandwiches or french toast, bake for 30 minutes.

25 minutes is a safe bet if you are making it for the first time.

*Instead of all whole wheat bread flour, you can also use half whole wheat and half white all purpose, or all white whole wheat. Half all purpose gives it a slightly less “wheaty” texture and flavor but personally I prefer that wheat texture.

Nutritional Information:

16 slices of bread

Calories: 99

Fat: 1.8

Sodium: 189 mg (8%)

Carbohydrates: 17.6 g

dietary Fiber: 3 g

Sugars: 2 g

Protein: 3.3 g

When we eat it as a dinner loaf we slice the bread twice as thick therefore each serving is doubled.

4 responses »

  1. If it wasnt 9:30PM I would be in the kitchen making this…tomorrow!!!…We LOVE Grandma Linda’s bread…problem is one cant eat just one slice!!!

  2. BTW…I made the Ginger Chicken tonight…it was SO easy and SO good!!!…I put it over Quinoa instead of using pasta…yum um me!!!!…really it was so much easier then I thought it would be…when are you publishing your cookbook?…

Leave a Reply

