Chicken, Bean, Rice, and Mushroom Stuffed Pepper Recipe

Standard

I love to cook, but I also have nights where I don’t feel like it and need a break. On those nights, its nice to have a quick healthy meal that isn’t labor intensive. For that reason I usually have cooked chicken in my refrigerator to throw into recipes. On Sunday, I just throw a chicken into the crockpot and let it cook on low all day. I pick the meat off, put the carcass back into the crockpot with leftover vegetable peels along with water and a little salt and pepper. That simmers all night and now I have cooked chicken and homemade chicken broth to use throughout the week.

IMG_8070

I didnt feel like cooking one night and I had leftover rice in my refrigerator so I decided to throw some things together and make a healthy stuffed pepper recipe. I prepped the filling while my kids were finishing up lunch, and it took about 5 minutes.

IMG_8066

When it came time for dinner, I just had to prep my peppers and bake. So the hands on time was maybe 10 minutes.

Chicken, White Bean, Brown rice, and Mushroom Stuffed Peppers

              Makes 6 peppers

2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 can white beans, drained

1 1/2 cups cooked rice

8 oz mushrooms, chopped

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 onion, chopped

2 tsp minced garlic (=4 cloves)

3/4 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp garlic salt

1/8-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional, to taste)

pepper to taste

1/2 cup shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix together all ingredients besides cheese in a bowl.  (This can be done the morning of or night before and sit it in the refrigerator until you want to continue.)

Wash pepper and cut the tops off. Remove all of the seeds.

Stuff peppers full with chicken mixture. Place in a baking dish, peppers right side up, and fill dish with about 1 inch of water. Cover with foil.

Bake for 40 minutes. Take out of oven and turn oven to broil.

Remove foil. Sprinkle cheese on top of peppers. Broil for 3-5 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Nutritional Information (per pepper)

Calories: 277

Fat: 6

Sodium: 172 mg (7%)

Carbohydrates: 32 g

Dietary Fiber: 5.5 g

Sugars: 4 g

Protein: 23 g

Leave a Reply

