A Day of Eating Around Here

Standard

Baby food pouches seem to be all the rage right now. Both Alyssa, 4, and Cassidy, 18 months, love them. I don’t remember seeing them around 4 years ago when Alyssa was a baby. But with Cassidy, they are the “it” thing. They are incredibly convenient and even come in organic varieties. But I made all of my kids baby food because I didn’t want the additives and preservatives in the premade stuff. If only I could get my homemade baby food into a reusable pouch… Well luckily they make these now and I am going to be doing a giveaway with them soon, so make sure to check back for details!…

Its been a while since I’ve done a What I Ate Wednesday or Munchkin Meals post. It’s a difficult post for me to write/photograph because I snack SO much. Well not as much snacking as just taking random bites of things. My actual meals and snacks looked like this…

Breakfast: Crockpot steel cut oats with banana,ground flax seed, and homemade peanut butter

Lunch: Loaded sweet potato with leftover chicken, broccoli, peas, melted cheddar, and cottage cheese. Looks like a mess, tastes amazing, probably one of my favorite meals ever!

IMG_8056

Snack: banana and peanut butter plus some roasted peanuts and raisins.

IMG_8064

Dinner: Chicken, bean, and mushroom stuffed Peppers plus a pile of some extra filling.

IMG_8070

Snack: a mug full of freshly homemade skim milk dark chocolate ice cream with frozen cherry chunks (once the kids went to bed).

However, that is not even close to everything that went into my mouth. I ate the skin off a couple of Cassidy’s apples, I took a couple bites of dinner when I prepped it during naptime, a bite of Greek yogurt and a few almonds when packing Dave’s lunch for the next day, etc. It’s a combination of not wanting to waste food (ie apple skin) and the fact that I don’t follow recipes and taste as I go along. Its not like I’m sticking my hand in a chip bag every 10 minutes, so I don’t worry about it.

As always, my kids eat the same things I do. If its not healthy enough for me to eat, then why would I put it in their bodies? And vice versa. Alyssa, who is 4 1/2, ate exactly what I ate all day except she always gets whole milk at breakfast. She is the best eater ever. It makes those couple months of fighting with her nonstop at meal time (around 18 months) totally worth it. Ever since she gave up the fight, she has been an incredibly easy kid to please at the dinner table.

Cassidy, who is now almost 19 months, eats the same as the rest of the family as well. She had a different lunch than me today only because of the way I split up the leftovers we had in our refrigerator.

Breakfast: Crockpot steel cut oats with banana, ground flax seed, and peanut butter. A little whole milk if she’ll drink it.

IMG_8054

Lunch: Rice, peas, cheese, and hemp seeds. Side of apple slices.

IMG_8055

Dinner: Stuffed Peppers

Snack: the kids got apples

Cassidy also breastfeeds before her nap (which is right after lunch) and before bed.

We seem to follow the 90/10 rule of 90% whole foods. Some days, like today, it was more like 95/5.  Besides our after dinner snack, there was no added sugar today. We did not consume any processed boxed foods either, which is the norm. We are far from perfect though, and there are days where we are more like 80/20 or even 70/30 if we eat a meal out or go to a get together or party. Sometimes I debate trying to give up dessert and repace it with something like yogurt, fruit, etc. Its the perfectionist in me trying to eat 100% healthy (at least at home, parties are fair game and always will be, still have to live life) But the dessert we eat is still homemade and unprocessed and i usually make it low sugar with whole wheat flour so I see our nightly treat sticking around 🙂

Does anyone have their kids on a daily probiotic? I’ve read research about gut health and food allergies (Alyssa is allergic to cashews) and Cassidy has thrown up half a dozen times in the last year, so I feel she could benefit as well. But with probiotics becoming rapidly more popular, companies are putting ones on the market that are less than desirable just to get in on the market and profit. Any suggestions to brands?

8 responses »

  1. I love your attitude about if it’s not healthy enough for you, why would you feed it to your kids. Awesome. I think it’s important for families to eat together, and eat the same sorts of things. The loaded sweet potato does look fantastic (I just wish I liked cottage cheese . . . I’d use greek yogurt instead)!!

    • We put a big emphasis on family meals and I only make 1 meal for everyone. We sit at the table as a family (Dave too when hes not working) all 3 meals of the day, 7 days a week. I think its a good time to just hangout, no technology, iphones, tv allowed, we don’t even answer our door bell 🙂

      And I use greek yogurt sometimes instead since I dont always have cottage cheese in the house, its just as good!

  2. It’s good to know that the early toddler struggles with foods can have a happy ending! We battle occasionally over dinners and I refuse to give him something different if he doesn’t eat what we are having first. It’s resulted in a few nights without dinner, but I’m hopeful he will eventually eat everything again if I keep it up!

    • We had like a month straight of food spitting, throwing food on floor, screaming, at about 18 months. But I was consistant, never made her a different meal (because honestly it wasn’t that she didn’t like it, it was her testing her boundaries), and me forcing her to eat it even if dinner took an hour. Once she gave up the fight she has been an amazing eater, absolutely anything I put in front of her she eats. Good luck! Stick it out, it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

