Lightly Sweetened Peanut Butter Granola Recipe

Standard

Over the weekend I decided to make  my almond granola but decided I wanted to use peanuts instead. From there I figured I might as well use peanut butter in place of the oil to make it more peanut-y. And I figured raisins would go better than craisins. We also didn’t have applesauce so I mashed up a banana.

IMG_8076

When Dave asked if I was making the normal almond granola recipe, I told him yes but then explained my substitutions. He said “So you’re making a completely different granola?”. Yea, I guess so.

IMG_8072

We ate it for lunch on top of plain yogurt mixed with pineapple. Good thing I made a double batch so there would still be a little left for snacking. I can’t keep my hand out of the box, granola is so addicting! Although with whole grains, healthy fat, and a good amount of protein, it’s a very well balanced snack and totally acceptable to eat by the handful. At least I’ll keep telling myself that.

IMG_8075

Lightly Sweetened Peanut Butter Granola

Makes 7 servings (1/2 cup each)

2 Tbs honey, agave, or pure maple syrup

1 Tbs all natural, no sugar added peanut butter

1 small banana (or 1/2 extra large), mashed

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/3 cup peanuts, roughly chopped (or just separated into halves)

1/4 cup raisins + 1 Tb water

Place raisins into a microwave safe mug with 1 Tbs water and microwave for 30 seconds. This will prevent them from drying out  or burning when baking the granola.

Mash banana in large bowl making sure no chunks remain. Add honey, peanut butter, and vanilla and stir everything together.

Add oats, peanuts, and raisins to wet ingredients and mix very well until its evenly distributed. If your peanuts aren’t salted, add 1/8 tsp salt. I use my hands to make sure its evenly distributed and to massage the wet into the oats.

Place on baking sheet and lightly push down, kind of like you are making granola bars. This will help it clump better since there is so little oil and honey.

Bake at 325F for 30-40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Remove from oven when its starting to get a nice golden brown color. Let cool then store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 223

Fat: 6 g

Sodium: 15 mg (1%)

Carbs: 37 g

Fiber: 5 g

Sugars: 10 g

Protein: 7 g

5 responses »

  1. Yum, this looks delicious, thank you for sharing your recipe. I laughed out loud when I read the exchange between you and your husband regarding the changes to the recipe. That is something my husband and I would do too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Week 12/52 – cherish | Struggling For (Happily) Ever After

Leave a Reply

