Baked Mac and Cheese

Standard

Mac and Cheese seems to be the ultimate kid food. I make it occasionally but had yet to come up with my go to recipe. I go back and forth between the recipes that start with a roux, because I like their taste and creaminess better, and the ones that don’t, for ease and health purposes. Well I combined my 2 recipes into one that would be both healthy and easy.

I like my mac and cheese smooth and creamy, as most kids do too. I love onion flavor but don’t like chunks of onion in my mac and cheese. I used onion powder and a little mustard for grown up flavor, while still making it nice and smooth for the kids.

If you are watching your calorie count, use reduced fat cheese. I find it melts fine and has a little less calories. I like to use the full fat though because kids should not have a low fat diet, (healthier fats of course). Neither should adults in my opinion. We don’t eat any processed foods which means we don’t have many added fats to our food so I try and make sure the kids are getting plenty for brain growth.

At only 375 calories and 20 g protein per serving, it is actually a nice well balanced meal when paired with a veggie.

Baked Mac and Cheese

16 oz whole wheat elbows

1 Tbs butter

1 Tbs white whole wheat flour

1 cup skim milk

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 cup plain greek yogurt or sour cream

2 oz cream cheese

8 oz shredded sharp cheddar (2 cups)

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1 Tbs onion powder

fresh cracked pepper to taste

2 Tbs parmesan cheese

Cook pasta al dente.

While pasta is cooking, melt butter. Stir in flour and cook for a minute. Add milk, a little at a time, until its all combined and smooth. Stir in chicken broth.

Melt in cream cheese. Add mustard, onion powder, pepper.

Turn off heat and stir in shredded cheddar

Drain pasta. Add back to pot. Stir in greek yogurt. Add cheese sauce.

Place in a 9×13 baking dish and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 378

Fat: 14.6

Sodium: 330 (14%)

Carbohydrates: 46.6 g

Dietary fiber: 6.6 g

sugars: 3.7 g

protein: 20.2 g

3 responses »

  1. THis will go well with my homemade fish fillets I planned for tonite from my Cook Yourself Thin cookbook…

    Wish you could be here this weekend …Grandma Linda’s birthday is Sunday and we are having a Dowling family gathering to celebrate…I am doin lasagna and the cake…Got any ideas for a quick design for a cake?…I would need them by tonite if you do…I love you and miss you!!

Leave a Reply

