Italian Salad Dressing Recipe

Standard

I found yet another food that I can’t believe I was still buying from the store when its so easy to make. I eat a lot of salads, not because I feel like I should, but because I love them. Topping a salad has endless possibilities and I load them up with leftover meats, cheeses, any vegetable, hummus, beans, etc.  Yet on top of those beautiful healthy salads, most people load it up with unhealthy processed salad dressings. Pretty much anything that is shelf stable for months is not great for you. And then add in that most people use way too much of it, its turning an otherwise healthy meal into a high calorie preservative doused meal.

IMG_8061

I made an Italian dressing today that is not only healthy but it tastes great too. And my frugal side also loves that I won’t be spending 3 bucks per bottle of dressing any longer! I also use it as a marinade for grilled chicken. I have plans for a healthy berry vinaigrette too!

IMG_8059

Italian Dressing Recipe:

makes 16 servings (1 Tbs each)

1/4-1/2 cup water

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup oil

1 Tbs honey

1 Tbs Parmesean cheese

1 tsp minced garlic

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp basil

fresh cracked pepper to taste

Combine everything in an empty bottle or salad dressing mixer. Shake well and store in the refrigerator.

I like mine thinner with a lighter taste so I use 1/2 cup water. However when I’m making it for guests I usually only use 1/4 cup water. Start with 1/4 cup and go from there!

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 37

Fat: 3.5 g

Sodium: 114 mg (5%)

Carbohydrates: 1.2

Sugars: 1 g

Protein: 0.1 g

4 responses »

      • I like the taste of olive oil so I have used that. But if you want a milder oil, I’ve also used peanut or canola. Considering I used it within under 2 weeks, it kept just fine! I responded a full explanation under kristens comment

    • It did the longer it sat, but honestly i liked it better that way. Since its more water and less oil with no thickener (like guar gum) like many dressings have I liked that it thickened a tiny bit with time. After about 3 days it thickened slightly in a good way, like a little bit, but definitely not even close to solidified. I used it all up in under 2 weeks though so I’m sure it would solidify if it sat for weeks and weeks. Just like any other unprocessed food, it certainly isn’t shelf stable for nearly as long. But we eat a lot of salads and marinated chicken on the grill.

Leave a Reply

