Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

Standard

Cabbage is one of my favorite vegetables. Which is probably one reason why corned beef and cabbage is my favorite holiday meal. Since cabbage is in season right now we have been eating a lot of it. Usually I just sautee it up with some garlic, salt, pepper, and vinegar and serve it as a side dish. I could eat that every single night, but I think my family would soon stop wanting to eat it.

I saw a recipe for stuffed cabbage leaves but it seemed labor intensive and it didn’t really use all that much cabbage, it was more filling. A couple weeks later I came across a recipe for stuffed cabbage casserole and that seemed perfect. I took a couple different recipes, combined them, and came up with my own to fit my personal tastes.

Alyssa ate 3rds and was asking for 4ths when I told her she needed to slow down a little. Girl must be growing! Although with lean ground beef or ground turkey, whole grain brown rice, and fresh cabbage, it’s a nice healthy meal to grow on for sure!

Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

serves 5

1 lb lean ground beef

3/4 cup brown rice

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 head cabbage, chopped

28 oz. diced tomatoes (fresh or canned)

1.5 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 Tbs Brown sugar

2 tsp dry mustard

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

Brown meat, onion, garlic. Add rice, salt, and pepper.

Mix diced tomatoes, chicken broth, brown sugar, mustard, and season with a little extra salt and pepper.

Layer 1/3 of cabbage in a 9×13 baking dish. Place 1/2 beef mixture on top, then another 1/3 of cabbage, the remaining beef, and then finally the remaining cabbage. Pour tomato mixture evenly over the top, do not stir. Cover and bake at 350 for 1 hour 15 minutes. Uncover and cook 30 minutes more.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 374

Fat: 7.7 g

Sodium: 440 mg (18%)

Carbohydrates: 41 g

Dietary Fiber: 7 g

Sugars:12 g

Protein: 35 g

*The winner of the squooshi reusable pouch giveaway is Olivia L! Email me your name and address at Lindsayfmf@gmail.com so I can have the package shipped to you!

One response »

  1. the title of this recipe should be Cabbage Lasagna!…I made the ginger chicken again last nite…I LOVE it!!…have it for lunch today as well and enough for dinner tonite!!it is akin to a spaghetti thing for me…one of the few things I can eat and eat and never tire of…

    I missed the pictures…

Leave a Reply

