No Mayo Potato Salad

Standard

When I asked Dave what he ate growing up for his typical Easter meal, potato salad was one of the dishes he mentioned. At first I thought I couldn’t make it because we don’t eat mayo or keep it in the house. There is nothing good for you in mayo, and miracle whip isn’t any better.

IMG_8244

I figured greek yogurt is a white creamy food so I would give it a shot using greek yogurt and doctor it up to somewhat resemble mayo. I figured if nothing else, it was just Dave, myself, and the kids eating so I wouldn’t have to serve it at a family potluck or anything if it ended up a fail.

IMG_8245

I gave it a go, wrote down what I did along the way, and taste tested a ton! Both Dave and I agreed it tasted like regular potato salad, not some healthy version of it. I would totally bring this to a potluck! Especially since the leftovers are just as good, if not better, than the first day. So this can definitely be made ahead.

IMG_8242

And a bonus of using all natural non-chemical healthy ingredients is that they are naturally lower in calories, fat, sugar, and sodium while being higher in protein. Regular potato salad clocks in at around 285 calories, 12 g fat, 34% daily value sodium, 11 g sugar, and only 3 g protein per serving. Mine has 114 calories, 2 g fat, 3% dv sodium, 4 g sugar, and 5 g protein.

No Mayo Potato Salad

serves 8

4 medium potatoes, chopped (4-5 cups)

3 hard boiled eggs, chopped

3/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1 Tbs real maple syrup

1 Tbs + 1 tsp yellow mustard

2 tsp dry dill

1/4 tsp garlic salt

salt and pepper to taste

Chop potatoes (I leave the skin on). Boil until fork tender. Don’t over cook. Drain potatoes. Put potatoes and chopped eggs into 2.5 Qt baking dish. Refrigerate until cool.

Combine all other ingredients to make the sauce. Pour over cooled potatoes and stir well. Add fresh cracked salt and pepper and stir.

If you like warm potato salad: Don’t cool potatoes and serve immediately with sauce.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 114

fat: 1.9 g

sodium: 77 mg (3%)

carbohydrates: 20 g

dietary fiber: 3 g

sugar: 3.8 g

protein: 5 g

Olivia L email me at Lindsayfmf@gmail.com with your name and address for the shipping of your Squooshi pouches by tomorrow or I will pick a different winner, thanks!

8 responses »

  1. Can ya come up with a recipe for Mayo so I can use it in egg and tuna salad as well?…cant wait to try the potato salad!!

  2. Why not make your own mayo? I do it all the time at home… So easy and good fat if you use light olive oil! You can even use your chickens eggs when they lay them! I like the addition of yogurt thought too. Extra protein!

    • I’ve thought about making my own mayo and have looked up recipes but I still feel like all that oil isn’t the healthiest fat source since its still processed some. Healthier than other oils but we go more for whole food fats like nuts, seeds, avocado, hemp, egg yolk, salmon, flax, etc. And it looked like making mayo was kind of tricky, but mixing yogurt with a couple spices was foolproof, for me at least!

  3. Yay! I am so glad to see this! I cannot stand mayo but my husband loves it (and potato salad). This is definitely something I will try making for my family. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

