As Healthy as you can get Cinnamon Rolls

Standard

Growing up I always ate a special breakfast on holidays. Special usually meant something sugary and dessert-like. I like to do the same with my family now and Alyssa even asked on Easter morning what special breakfast I would be making. On Christmas I made a very lightened up Monkey Bread. It turned out pretty good, but nothing spectacular. For Easter, I went with Cinnamon Rolls, and they were a keeper!

IMG_8213

We all felt they were a good compromise between being sweet and decadent enough to be a special treat breakfast yet still healthy enough that they felt acceptable to eat a few for breakfast. I pair them with either eggs or smoothies to round out the meal.

IMG_8214

And there is NO added butter, oil, or refined sugar in the dough and only a very small amount in the gooey filling. They also use baking powder instead of yeast, so they are very quick to make. Thats important around here because my 1 and 4 year old (or me!) can’t wait 2 hours for breakfast in the morning while my yeast dough rises. You just have to mix it all together, roll it out, roll it up, then bake!

IMG_8199

As healthy as you can get Cinnamon Rolls

makes 10

Rolls:

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 Tbs baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2/3 cup milk

1/3 cup greek yogurt

1 Tbs honey

Filling:

1/4 cup raisins

1 Tbs butter, melted

1-2 Tbs honey

1 Tbs brown sugar

1 tsp (ish) cinnamon

Icing:

1 oz cream cheese, room temperature

3 Tbs powdered sugar

1 Tbs skim milk

1/4 tsp vanilla

Place raisins in 1/4 cup hot water and let sit.

To make the rolls, combine all the dry ingredients. Combine the wet. Stir together.

Roll out dough between 2 silpats or with as little extra flour as you can. It should be roughly 8 x 14. Roughly! Don’t worry about measuring at all (look at my picture above).

Pour melted butter on dough and spread out evenly. I found my fingertips worked best to spread it out.

Sprinkle honey (according to sweetness desired), brown sugar, and as much cinnamon as you want to cover well on top of the butter.

Drain raisins and sprinkle them on as well.

Roll up. You should roll it in a way that your “log” of cinnamon rolls ends up 14 inch in size not 8. So roll it longways.

Cut into 10 equal rolls and place right side up on silpat. Place the rolls about 1 inch apart so when they expand during cooking, they will slightly touch at the edges keeping them gooey. If you like crunchy edges then separate them more so they don’t touch at all during cooking.

Bake at 350F for 13-15 minutes.

While they are baking combine the cream cheese with the powdered sugar. Add the milk and vanilla. Drizzle on top of rolls when you take them out of the oven.

Serve immediately.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 134

Fat: 2 g

Sodium: 78 (3%)

Carbohydrates: 25 g

dietary fiber: 2 g

sugars: 8 g

protein: 3.7 g

5 responses »

  1. I love the title “as healthy as you can get”. Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite vacation or holiday type splurges. They remind me of being a kid and visiting my grandparent’s house . . . they always had cinnamon rolls. 🙂

  2. I am going to make these probably tonite!!!…I did a shrimp and bok choy stir fry last night that I will do for you when you come up!!

  3. these look great! I have just discovered making them this way, as I am very cinnamon roll challenged when it comes to yeast! ugh. So, I’m excited to find one with yogurt!!

Leave a Reply

