Sweet Potato Gnocchi in a Light Parmesan “Cream” Sauce

Standard

I love sweet potatoes. I roast them, make them into fries, make loaded sweet potaotes, or just hold one in my hand in eat it plain. Alyssa requested I make “anokio” (gnocchi) this week during meal planning and I was all for it. Most recipes are in browned butter but I obviously wasn’t going to soak my dinner in a stick of butter so I came up with a light sauce. I also added broccoli for some green and  lean ground turkey for protein.

IMG_8291

I was planning on freezing part of it so I’d have a meal already made for later on. But I need to realize that between me, Dave, my 4 year old, and 1 year old, we easily polish off a meal that’s supposed to feed 4. My kids eat as much as adults these days! Its unreal to watch them put away food. I don’t know where it physically fits in their little bellies. Alyssa actually asked for 3rds but much to her dismay, there weren’t 3rds to be had. Looks like I need to start doubling my recipes.

IMG_8289

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Ground Turkey and Broccoli in a Garlic Parmesan “Cream” Sauce

Serves 4

For the gnocchi:

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 egg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8 garlic powder

1 tbs parmesan cheese

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

For the rest of the meal:

12 oz lean ground turkey

1 green onion, chopped

pepper

1 head broccoli, steamed (or 1 bag frozen)

1 tbs butter

1/4 cup whole milk

1/2 tsp rosemary, thyme or sage (whatever you like best)

1/2 tsp garlic salt

2 Tbs grated parmesan cheese

To make the gnocchi, first bake the sweet potatoes. Scrub, poke holes with a knife, wrap in tin foil and bake at 400 for an hour or until very well done. If you are short on time just scrub, poke holes and microwave for 10 (ish) minutes until very soft. Or if you’re like me, you will always have pre-baked sweet potatoes in your fridge so just use leftovers.

Put a pot of salted boiling water on.

Scoop flesh of sweet potato out, discard skin (or eat plain, told you I love anything sweet potato). Place flesh in food processor with egg, cinnamon, nutmeg, garlic, and parmesan cheese.

Scrape into bowl and stir in flour. Depending on exact size of sweet potato you may need as much as 1/4 cup more flour. The dough should be VERY sticky.

Flour your hands and roll into 1 inch logs. Cut logs into pieces.

Drop about 1/3 of gnocchi into boiling water and watch for them to float. Cook for 1-2 minutes longer after they start to float (so 4-5 minutes total). Scoop out gnocchi with a slotted spoon and place on a plate.

Repeat with next 1/3 of gnocchi, then the remaining.

Now for the entire meal:

While gnocchi is boiling, brown ground turkey with chopped green onion and a little freshly ground pepper.

Add frozen broccoli and cook until warmed through. Add gnocchi.

Add butter, milk, garlic salt, parmesan, and sage (or rosemary or thyme). Stir until butter is melted and sauce coats entire meal.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 512

total fat: 14 g

sodium: 223 mg (9%)

Carbohydrates: 66 g

dietary fiber: 9 g

sugars: 4 g

protein: 33 g

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

