Even Healthier Whole Wheat Graham Crackers

Standard

Since cutting out processed foods, I’ve found my taste buds have definitely adjusted. I sweeten my oats with a banana, pancakes with vanilla and cinnamon, homemade ice cream with dates (oh I’ll post that recipe soon, it was goood!), etc. When I eat something with cups and cups of sugar, its tastes too sweet to me now. I can’t even taste the flavor, its just like eating pure sugar.

I have been making my graham cracker recipe for over a year now, but the last time I made them, they even tasted a little sweet to me. Not overly sweet, but still too sweet to eat a ton of and call a healthy snack. And trust me, when I make graham crackers, we eat them fast!

So I experimented with my own recipe, and honestly I like them even better now. So if you are looking for a slightly sweet graham cracker (or teething type biscuit) for your kids, this is a hit in my house! If you are accustomed to eating things a little sweeter, then stick to my other recipe, they are still much healthier than the ones you get from a box!

Even Healthier Whole Wheat Graham Crackers:

2.5 cups whole wheat flour

2 Tbs butter, melted

2 Tbs plain greek yogurt

2 Tbs brown sugar

2 Tbs honey, molasses, agave, or pure maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla (or 1/2 tsp almond extract)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2/3-3/4 cup milk (skim, almond, coconut, etc)

Mix together melted butter, greek yogurt, brown sugar, honey, vanilla, and 2/3 cup milk.

In a separate bowl, stir together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Mix together wet and dry. Add milk by the tsp until the dough comes together. It should be pretty thick so you can roll it out. I’ve found the amount of milk varies based on the brand of whole wheat flour used, some are much dryer than others.

Split dough in half. Roll out each between 2 silpats or parchment paper. Transfer to greased cookie sheet.

Using pizza or pastry cutter, cut into squares. Poke holes in the center of each with a fork.

Bake at 350F for 10 minutes. Take out and move graham crackers around (moving ones that were on the edge to the center so the edges don’t bake quicker than the center).

Bake for 5-10 more minutes until slightly browned and crunchy. Keep in mind they will continue to harden some as they cool, so don’t burn them trying to get them crispy.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

