Mayo Free Cole Slaw

Standard

With summer BBQs in full swing, I am often trying to think of what side dish to contribute. I like to bring something healthy so if all else fails and there’s nothing but hot dogs, mac n cheese, and mayo loaded potato salad, we can still try and get something a little healthy in our bodies.

IMG_8330

I already have a recipe for Mayo-free potato salad, and now I also have mayo-free cole slaw as an option.

IMG_8331

I made this for dinner the other night to go alongside some grilled chicken and corn on the cob. I was actually was planning on making some mixed vegetables for the girls since I wasn’t sure the girls would be patient enough to eat raw cabbage. Neither are picky at all, but I thought it might be too hard to chew and eat still for Cassidy. Well they both tried it off my plate and loved it. Alyssa ate 4ths of it and then finished it off the next day as leftovers. Yes, we ate all 14 servings in 2 days between the four of us.

IMG_8321

Cole Slaw (Mayo-free)

makes 14 servings (could cut in half if just making for a family dinner and not a big gathering)

1 head cabbage (green or half green, half purple)

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1/4 cup plain yogurt (greek or regular)

1/4 cup + 2 tbs buttermilk

1/4 cup + 2 Tbs white vinegar

1/4 cup sugar or honey (or 2 Tbs of each)

2 Tbs lemon juice

2 Tbs minced onion (dried or a sweet onion)

2 Tbs olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp celery seed

1/4 tsp dry mustard

1/8 tsp seasoning salt

Chop cabbage into small thin strips. Grate carrots. (You could also buy a prepackaged bag of shredded slaw but I’ve never seen it organic and just any other prepackaged food, it wont be quite as fresh)

Mix together the rest of the ingredients and whisk together.

Pour over cabbage and carrots and coat well.

Let sit in refrigerator for at least 2 hours or overnight before serving.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 56

Fat: 2.2

Sodium: 126 (5%)

Carbohydrates: 8 g

Dietary Fiber: 2 g

Sugars: 6 g

Protein: 1.2 g

(Regular cole slaw has 126 calories, 10 g fat, 8 g sugar, and twice the sodium!)

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for this recipe too! I think my husband’s two favorite side dishes in the summertime are cole slaw and potato salad – neither or which I usually eat because of the mayo. This summer I can have both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

