Dishwasher Detergent “Recipe”

Standard

We have been using homemade laundry detergent for a while now and love it. I was worried my husband wouldn’t like the fact that our clothes didn’t come out smelling like flowers but they still smell good. They just smell clean, which is nice. We have also been using homemade dishwasher detergent, and again we love it. I have found that it cleans our dishes just as well as any other detergent we’ve ever used. Actually, I like it better than the store bought powdered detergent since its never clumped up on my dishes or gotten stuck in my dispenser like the store bought kind can.

However, I do, and always have, rinse my dishes off pretty well before sticking them in the dishwasher. I never put dishes in my dishwasher with food stuck on them. I hate going to unload it and have to rewash half the stuff. This goes for store bought or homemade detergent.

I read controversial things about using borax on dishes. Even though most of it gets rinsed off, I am better safe than sorry, and don’t use it like many other homemade recipes.

Dishwasher Detergent:

2 cups washing soda

1/2 cup lemi-shine (in detergent aisle)

1/2 cup kosher salt or other coarse salt for scrubbing action

use 1 tbs per load

Leave a Reply

