Healthier No Bake Cookies

Standard

This is a cookie recipe I like when I want something semi-healthy but doesn’t taste too healthy. Don’t get me wrong, I actually love healthy banana cookies but the texture is more of a bread or muffin. I love the dense, fudgy  texture of a no bake cookie.

IMG_8439

Many healthy recipes replace the butter with banana or applesauce. I replaced half of the butter with banana but its a small amount so you cant taste it at all. The other half you can use grass fed butter or unrefined coconut oil. I am learning more and more about “health” and certain fats can (and should be) included in a healthy diet.  I also cut the sugar way down and replaced half with honey. I am completely against all artificial sweeteners, so I would never replace with splenda, stevia, etc. I also don’t use agave because of how processed it is. The only sweeteners we use are honey, maple syrup, and organic sugar sparingly (which I am looking into switching to coconut palm sugar).

IMG_8435

I made all 32 and put them in the freezer to save some. Unfortunately, they tasted just as good frozen, so the plan of saving some for later didn’t work out so well.

No Bake Cookies

makes 32

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup sugar

4 Tbs cocoa powder

heaping 1/4 cup mashed banana

1/3 cup milk

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup peanut butter (no sugar, salt, or oil added)

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/8 tsp salt

In a saucepan bring the sugar, honey, cocoa, butter and milk to a full boil. Let boil for 2 whole minutes, stirring constantly, then add peanut butter, vanilla, and mashed banana. Stir in oatmeal. Drop formed dough onto silpat or parchment paper. Cookies will be whatever shape you drop them onto the cookie sheet. Let cool completely until hardened before eating. Can refrigerate for an hour or so to speed up the hardening.

Nutritional Information

Calories: 82

Fat: 4 g

Sodium: 38 mg (2%)

Carbohydrates: 10 g

Dietary Fiber: 1.2 g

Sugars: 4.8 g

Protein: 2.1 g

2 responses »

  1. I tried a similar version of this cookie and it was delicious! I’ll have to try this recipe because it sounds way healthier than the ones I made.

    I am trying to get away from the artificial sweeteners, but I do have a small bottle of organic liquid stevia in my office for my tea. I tried the coconut palm sugar, but it tasted like burnt coconut to me and I really hated it. Such a bummer. We use organic sugar at our house… or honey.

    Have you ever heard of Food Babe? She is awesome and I think you’d really like her blog!

    • yea its a little healthier for sure but because theres a lot less sugar it doesn’t get quite a hard unless put in fridge/freezer. We don’t do artificial sweeteners at all either. It much healthier to have a little of the real stuff. We love local honey. although if you use it, the liquid stevia extract is the best to use as long as its nothing but whole stevia leaf and alcohol. The packets aren’t any good since they are super processed though. I have heard of food babe. I read a lot of different healthy living blogs because although I eat as healthy as I know to, im always learning new stuff that floors me about our food!

Leave a Reply

