Simple Chocolate Buttercream

Standard

Chocolate buttercream is by far my favorite icing and I use it on any cake I make. This recipe is a “crusting” recipe so if you can smooth it out using a Viva paper towel. Other crusting buttercream recipes I find have crisco instead of part of the butter. No thanks. This will very generously ice a whole cake with a some leftover. You can freeze the leftovers, just rewhip it after it defrosts. Or your husband can make an icing sandwich. Unfortunately I am not kidding.

It is simple and delicious and it will result in little fingers repeatedly getting at the cake if left unattended…

IMG_8714

Chocolate Buttercream Icing

1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

4 cups (one 1 lb bag) confectioner’s sugar

2-6 Tbs milk, as needed

Beat butter until smooth. Add cocoa powder and sugar a little at a time. Add vanilla. Add milk by the tablespoon until desired consistency is reached. I like to whip it for a while so it gets fluffier.

I like it thick versus runny but it still needs to be spreadable. Remember if you store the cake in the refrigerator (I usually do the day its served since I make the cake in the morning and use a whipped cream filling that I want to keep from spoiling), the icing will firm up some.

No need to add nutritional information here. Its butter and sugar. Use sparingly but enjoy every bite! It makes me feel a little better that I use grass fed organic butter. A little…

One response »

  1. I remember Cassidy sliding over to the cake when no one was around…could not resist taking pictures…cutest thing ever that child!!!

Leave a Reply

