Cheesy Potato and Egg Casserole

Standard

I often have the need to bring a breakfast dish to different groups I am a part of, like my military spouses group and my Sunday school group. I have brought this to both places and it gets rave reviews. One person even told me she didn’t like egg casseroles but she liked this.

Although I make it for just my family even more than I do events. I make it every few weeks on the weekends and I have one in my freezer for when baby #3 is born. If my family eats it, its more like 8 servings, so it feeds my family of 4 for two mornings. Or just one morning then I let Dave eat the rest during the week for work which he loves. But for a gathering, I cut it into 12 or sometimes even 16 pieces sot there’s more to go around.

This delicious casserole has lots of protein, some carbs, good fat (if used properly sourced meat and eggs), and a dose of veggies. Serve with a side of fresh fruit and you’ve got every food group covered! It has freshly shredded potatoes instead of store bought hash browns which really do taste way better, not to mention the health factor. It also has some swiss cheese in it which is a nice flavor addition.

Egg and Potato Cheesy Breakfast Casserole

serves 8-12

8 eggs

1.5 cups cottage cheese

1 lb free range, nitrate free, low sodium bacon or sausage

3 cups freshly shredded potatoes

2 green onions

1 cup freshly sharp cheddar cheese

3/4 cup freshly shredded swiss cheese

1 10 oz package defrosted, drained spinach (or other tiny chopped vegetable of choice like peppers, mushrooms, etc)

Shred your potatoes and cheeses while the bacon or sausage cooks. Chop green onions.

Drain grease from bacon or sausage, add hash browns and onions and cook for 5 minutes. Add cooked vegetables that are drained very well.

In large bowl, beat eggs. Stir in cottage cheese, 3/4 cup cheddar, and 1/2 cup swiss. Add meat and potato mixture and stir together.

Pour into greased 9 x 13 and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Cook at 350 for 35-40 minutes. Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting.

Nutritional Information: based on 12 “party” servings

Calories: 265

Fat: 19 g

Sodium: 3 g

Carbohydrates: (15 %)

dietary fiber: 1 g

sugars: 1 g

Protein: 20 g

Leave a Reply

