Soaked Pancakes

Standard

I have quite a few pancake recipes I use but I have one basic recipe that I have memorized and use most often for its ability to customize. This one is based off of my basic greek yogurt pancakes but since I soak all of my grains now, I adapted the recipe to use kefir instead. Its much cheaper than greek yogurt and the soak gives the pancakes a much fluffier texture.

Use the same recipe for waffles but add 1 tbs coconut oil to the batter if you want a crispier waffle.

Soaked Pancake Recipe

makes 2 large servings

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup kefir

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs

1/2 banana

shredded coconut, raisins, chopped apples, chopped nut or of choice, chocolate chips

Place oats in a blender and make oat flour. Add whole wheat flour and kefir. Mix until combined. Let sit overnight 12-18 hours.

In the morning put the rest of the ingredients in the blender and blend just until combined.

Cook on medium high heat on a greased griddle. Sprinkle add ins on top as soon as batter is put on the griddle so they have time to sink down, before you flip it.

Nutritional Information (not including add ins)

Calories: 382

Fat: 9.2 g

Sodium: 438 mg (18%)

Carbohydrates: 58 g

dietary fiber: 5 g

sugars: 10 g

Protein: 17 g

One response »

  1. you are back!!!!…YAY!!!….I made chinese meatballs last night then cooked them in Hoison sauce…served them with rice (I added broccoli to the water as the rice was cooking)…Madden had 3 helpings…I plan to make them for you when you come…I think the girls would like them…I used a jarred Hoison sauce but wondered if you have a good recipe for Hoison sauce (the one i got had very few ingredients)…or maybe you could design your own!!

Leave a Reply

