Cheater Amish Friendship Bread

Standard

I love Amish friendship bread but i think the whole process is kind of a pain. Its a neat idea but I often don’t want or have time to do the whole 10 day process. Well i hadnt made the bread in years, so i accepted the starter recently. Although I quickly regretted the deicision so I decided to just bake with the starter that day. The starter you receive is the same thing as you use to bake your actual bread. The reason for the 10 day process is to expand the starter and make more by adding more ingredients. But if you dont want to make more, then you can just use it.

Although now after making this bread I wish I had done the 10 day process so i could have more starter to make more of this bread. Of course I made my own recipe and did not use the one on the printed directions given to me. Making bread with a large box of processed instant pudding is far from healthy. And adding another cup of white sugar to that? It still has the same flavor as the original bread but its more of a breakfast bread, not a cake like the original.

Dave had never had this bread before but coincidentally enough he tried it for the first time the same day i received my starter. I guess me and a coworkers wife must have known some of the same people to receive the starter. He tried it at work, someone brought it in and their wife made the original version. So he was able to do a taste test of my bread and compare it to the one he ate earlier in the day. He agreed it had the same flavors but was just way less sweet and more like an actual quick bread vs pound cake.

Healthified Amish Friendship Bread

makes 2 small loaves

1 cup Amish Friendship Bread Starter

1/3 cup melted butter

1/3 cup greek yogurt or applesauce

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup honey

3 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

additional cinnamon sugar (equal parts) for dusting tops

Mix together wet. Mix together dry. Combine the two. Do not over stir.

Pour batter into 2 greased loaf pans or 12 muffin tins. Sprinkle tops with cinnamon sugar.

Bake at 350 F for 40-50 minutes (25-30 for muffins), until tester comes out clean

Allow loaves to cool for a few minutes then let cool on a wire rack.

4 responses »

  1. Love this recipe, I recently received a started and gawked at the amount of sugar needed plus the pudding mix was out of the question. I will try this recipe as soon as my starter is ready to split.

    • I know! I always loved the bread but never knew what was in it! Usually at least if stuff is homemade it is free of chemicals and preservatives but not the case with pudding mix added.

Leave a Reply

